View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Jun 03, 2024 8:16 pm



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 Length of arms and hand/wrist positioning 
Author Message

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:11 am
Posts: 16
Reply with quote
Post Length of arms and hand/wrist positioning
So I'm creating an actor that is much larger than the basic ones, but I've already run into some issues. After increasing the length of his arms/sprite the hands are no longer in an accurate spot, no matter what offset i change. And then when I've come close to having them in the right position, in-game they seem to float and stretch away from the "wrist."

I either must be changing the wrong settings or hands and arms are more complicated than i thought.

Any help? Thanks!


Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:44 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:44 am
Posts: 201
Reply with quote
Post Re: Length of arms and hand/wrist positioning
It's found in the Atom Groups I think... I'm not sure......

BUUUT, did you check out the Liberty Prime mod?? That could release some clues for you.


Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:00 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:11 am
Posts: 16
Reply with quote
Post Re: Length of arms and hand/wrist positioning
You are definitely onto something with the atom groups. I looked around the forums and found an interesting experiment a guy did, regarding changing the weight of feet to accommodate for large actors. But he mentioned that he modified the atoms groups in the Base.rte in the actors ini?

I went in there and I feel like I'm really close to having an idea, but I'm not sure what I should be editing:
Code:
AddActor = AtomGroup
   PresetName = HandGroup
   AutoGenerate = 0
   AddAtom = Atom
      Offset = Vector
         X = -5
         Y = 2
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Rubber
      TrailLength = 0
   AddAtom = Atom
      Offset = Vector
         X = -5
         Y = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Rubber
      TrailLength = 0
   AddAtom = Atom
      Offset = Vector
         X = -5
         Y = 0
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Rubber
      TrailLength = 0
   AddAtom = Atom
      Offset = Vector
         X = -4
         Y = 0
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Rubber
      TrailLength = 0
   AddAtom = Atom
      Offset = Vector
         X = -3
         Y = 0
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Rubber
      TrailLength = 0
   AddAtom = Atom
      Offset = Vector
         X = -2
         Y = 0
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Rubber
      TrailLength = 0
   AddAtom = Atom
      Offset = Vector
         X = -1
         Y = 0
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Rubber
      TrailLength = 0
   AddAtom = Atom
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Rubber
      TrailLength = 0
   JointOffset = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = 1


My assumption is the Jointoffset but there's so many repeating "AddAtoms = Atom" I wonder if they are important too.

Secondly, If i were to copy/paste that hand code into my own actors ini and rename HandGroup to something like "MechhandGroup"

which part of this code in my actors ini would i replace with the new name?
Code:
HandGroup = AtomGroup
      CopyOf = HandGroup


//EDIT: SO I made the new handgroup in my own actor ini(before the actors loading ofcourse), I then changed the above code to:
Code:
HandGroup = AtomGroup
      CopyOf = MechHandGroup
But for some reason, My actor isn't linking to the MechHandGroup but reverts back to the regular HandGroup. Is there more to atomgroups im getting wrong? haha


Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:08 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.011s | 12 Queries | GZIP : Off ]