View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 8:59 am



Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods) 
Author Message
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
Alright so, a loadout is what is used in the metagame for bunker blueprints and AI ordering, aswell as automatically fed over to the presets menu in the buy menu.
In order to use a tech with the metagame, it has to have a name that contains "tech".

So "ModuleName = Coalition Tech" instead of "ModuleName = Coalition"

In B27 the tech loadouts are in Tech.rte/Loadouts.ini.

MAke sure to put it last in the index.ini like this:
Code:
DataModule
   ModuleName = Coalition Tech
   IconFile = ContentFile
      Path = Coalition.rte/ModuleIcon.bmp
   IncludeFile = Coalition.rte/Effects/Effects.ini
   IncludeFile = Coalition.rte/Devices/Devices.ini
   IncludeFile = Coalition.rte/Actors/Actors.ini
   IncludeFile = Coalition.rte/Loadouts.ini



Here's how a standard loadout looks like:
Code:
AddLoadout = Loadout
   PresetName = Infantry Light
   DeliveryCraft = ACRocket
      PresetName = Base.rte/Rocket MK1
   AddCargoItem = AHuman
      PresetName = Coalition.rte/Soldier Light
   AddCargoItem = HDFirearm
      PresetName = Coalition.rte/Assault Rifle
   AddCargoItem = TDExplosive
      PresetName = Coalition.rte/Grenade


Current deployment loadout names:


Default (Think of this as Assault infantry)

Infantry Brain

Infantry Light

Infantry CQB

Infantry Heavy

Infantry Sniper

Infantry Grenadier (RPG or grenade launcher primary usually)

Infantry Engineer (unit with heavier digger)

Mecha (dreadnought etc)

Turret (colition gatling turret etc.)



By following this your mod should be metagame compatible, knock yourself out. :)


Last edited by Lizardheim on Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:11 pm, edited 4 times in total.



Sat May 26, 2012 3:41 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 11:05 am
Posts: 3878
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
Dammit Lizardheim, I'm getting all hyped up for B27.


Sat May 26, 2012 5:43 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
Excellent.


Sat May 26, 2012 5:44 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:19 am
Posts: 1279
Location: Places. And things.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
I can wait, but I don't wanna. By the twitter feed I'm getting it is looking very good, and, BTW, when in the twitter you say "updated ______ loadout", do you mean updating it to this format?


Sat May 26, 2012 7:01 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
Usually updating the loadout already made by changing things.


Sat May 26, 2012 7:28 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:32 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
Nice. Can we specify custom new preset/loadout names, or are we stuck with the predefined ones for now?


Sun May 27, 2012 9:39 pm
Profile YIM
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
Wait, so, vanilla loadouts are in Tech.rte? When I create my own loadout for a mod it has to be inside the mod or inside Tech.rte?

I had more doubts, but I forgot them.


Sun May 27, 2012 9:44 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
"Tech.rte" can be Coalition.rte, YourMod.rte and so on.


Sun May 27, 2012 10:34 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
Aaaaaahhh now I get it!

So, loadouts will work like the presets but for the metagame?


Sun May 27, 2012 11:00 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 4521
Location: Constant motion
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
They work like MMItems.txt for SneakyMax's old mod manager.


Sun May 27, 2012 11:02 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
When you pick a Tech at the start of the match, these are the deployments you get to place down, also what your tech will be using when AI controlled.
They are also loaded into the presets tab of the buy menu automatically.


Mon May 28, 2012 12:18 am
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:34 pm
Posts: 966
Location: Moscow, Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
How can I test loadouts? CC checks them for correctness at start or only during metagame?


Sun Jun 03, 2012 9:52 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 1972
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
You'll have to check them in-game I'm afraid.

Deviating from the use of the above mentioned presetnames makes them not appear in-game, although the game will start normally. The game only shows loadouts with the above presetnames.

If you make multiple "infantry light" (or any other) units then they'll all appear in one buyable option, which is not good. :S

And lastly, if you do not use all of the above mentioned preset names then any non-used ones will be filled up with zombies.

Yeah, this loadout system needs some work still. >_>


Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:22 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
Well obviously, but we needed a system for making the ♥♥♥♥ work.


Mon Jun 04, 2012 6:57 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:43 pm
Posts: 572
Location: Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:28 pm
Reply with quote
Post Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
Sooo... If the meta-game crashes asap when a "battle" is about to start it's probably the Loadouts thats the cause? In a mod ofc. :oops:


Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:26 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.431s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]