Data Realms Fan Forums
http://forums.datarealms.com/

Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)
http://forums.datarealms.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=31031
Page 1 of 3

Author:  Lizardheim [ Sat May 26, 2012 3:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

Alright so, a loadout is what is used in the metagame for bunker blueprints and AI ordering, aswell as automatically fed over to the presets menu in the buy menu.
In order to use a tech with the metagame, it has to have a name that contains "tech".

So "ModuleName = Coalition Tech" instead of "ModuleName = Coalition"

In B27 the tech loadouts are in Tech.rte/Loadouts.ini.

MAke sure to put it last in the index.ini like this:
Code:
DataModule
   ModuleName = Coalition Tech
   IconFile = ContentFile
      Path = Coalition.rte/ModuleIcon.bmp
   IncludeFile = Coalition.rte/Effects/Effects.ini
   IncludeFile = Coalition.rte/Devices/Devices.ini
   IncludeFile = Coalition.rte/Actors/Actors.ini
   IncludeFile = Coalition.rte/Loadouts.ini



Here's how a standard loadout looks like:
Code:
AddLoadout = Loadout
   PresetName = Infantry Light
   DeliveryCraft = ACRocket
      PresetName = Base.rte/Rocket MK1
   AddCargoItem = AHuman
      PresetName = Coalition.rte/Soldier Light
   AddCargoItem = HDFirearm
      PresetName = Coalition.rte/Assault Rifle
   AddCargoItem = TDExplosive
      PresetName = Coalition.rte/Grenade


Current deployment loadout names:


Default (Think of this as Assault infantry)

Infantry Brain

Infantry Light

Infantry CQB

Infantry Heavy

Infantry Sniper

Infantry Grenadier (RPG or grenade launcher primary usually)

Infantry Engineer (unit with heavier digger)

Mecha (dreadnought etc)

Turret (colition gatling turret etc.)



By following this your mod should be metagame compatible, knock yourself out. :)

Author:  Natti [ Sat May 26, 2012 5:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

Dammit Lizardheim, I'm getting all hyped up for B27.

Author:  Lizardheim [ Sat May 26, 2012 5:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

Excellent.

Author:  unwoundpath [ Sat May 26, 2012 7:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

I can wait, but I don't wanna. By the twitter feed I'm getting it is looking very good, and, BTW, when in the twitter you say "updated ______ loadout", do you mean updating it to this format?

Author:  Lizardheim [ Sat May 26, 2012 7:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

Usually updating the loadout already made by changing things.

Author:  Arcalane [ Sun May 27, 2012 9:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

Nice. Can we specify custom new preset/loadout names, or are we stuck with the predefined ones for now?

Author:  Asklar [ Sun May 27, 2012 9:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

Wait, so, vanilla loadouts are in Tech.rte? When I create my own loadout for a mod it has to be inside the mod or inside Tech.rte?

I had more doubts, but I forgot them.

Author:  Lizardheim [ Sun May 27, 2012 10:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

"Tech.rte" can be Coalition.rte, YourMod.rte and so on.

Author:  Asklar [ Sun May 27, 2012 11:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

Aaaaaahhh now I get it!

So, loadouts will work like the presets but for the metagame?

Author:  Roast Veg [ Sun May 27, 2012 11:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

They work like MMItems.txt for SneakyMax's old mod manager.

Author:  Lizardheim [ Mon May 28, 2012 12:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

When you pick a Tech at the start of the match, these are the deployments you get to place down, also what your tech will be using when AI controlled.
They are also loaded into the presets tab of the buy menu automatically.

Author:  weegee [ Sun Jun 03, 2012 9:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

How can I test loadouts? CC checks them for correctness at start or only during metagame?

Author:  Gotcha! [ Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

You'll have to check them in-game I'm afraid.

Deviating from the use of the above mentioned presetnames makes them not appear in-game, although the game will start normally. The game only shows loadouts with the above presetnames.

If you make multiple "infantry light" (or any other) units then they'll all appear in one buyable option, which is not good. :S

And lastly, if you do not use all of the above mentioned preset names then any non-used ones will be filled up with zombies.

Yeah, this loadout system needs some work still. >_>

Author:  Lizardheim [ Mon Jun 04, 2012 6:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

Well obviously, but we needed a system for making the ♥♥♥♥ work.

Author:  Azakan [ Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:26 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Build 27 Loadouts (or how to make metagame compatible mods)

Sooo... If the meta-game crashes asap when a "battle" is about to start it's probably the Loadouts thats the cause? In a mod ofc. :oops:

Page 1 of 3 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/