View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:49 pm

Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
 Need help with specific mod crash. 

Post Need help with specific mod crash.
Well i decided to try modding and thought maybe the hulk would be a cool unit to add so i coded a new unit
and made him extra resistant, then i had my bro do the spriting for it. When we finally finished him i decided to try him out
and he worked fine but then right as i smashed into the enemy dreadnought the game crtashed, just the big
"cortex command stopped working" kind of crash. Im new to modding so i have no idea whats wrong.
Could anyone help?

I tried to attach the folder but im not sure it worked. EDIT: Worked :grin:

Attachments:
File comment: The hulks code
Hulk.rte.rar [71.72 KiB]
Downloaded 228 times
Sat Aug 24, 2013 5:29 pm

Post Re: Need help with specific mod crash.
First thing... having more than 100 health isn't very useful and can exploit the metagame by returning more than 100% cash value back to the player.
Foa wrote:
[Selling Back is \Original Cost * Health / 100\]

Instead, if you want 10x health, you should actually increase the material limits of the actor's parts by 1000%. I.e. the AtomGroup material, instead of Kevlared Flesh, use 'Mega Metal' or.. better yet, create your own material (In a new Materials.ini in your folder, called through the Index.ini) that has StructuralIntegrity = 500 or something. This will make (most) bullets literally bounce off of you.. if you're still taking more damage than you wanted to be, you can then increase it further, along with the GibImpulseLimit and JointStrength (but not necesarily JointStiffness, as this can sometimes cause a 'brittleness' effect.. like braking concrete as opposed to a piece of metal, which bends a bit). Also if you do make your own material you'll have more control over the bounce and friction anyways.