View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 2:10 pm



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Gun firing but no boolets? 
Author Message

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:58 am
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
Post Gun firing but no boolets?
Made a minigun thingy with Sh00ks rapid fire script slightly modified, I do believe I set the correct offsets, yet it refuses to spit out bullets. Any help would be really appreciated, feel like I'm staring myself blind looking for what I did wrong!

Code for the gun and ammo

And a link to the full thing.
http://filesmelt.com/dl/Test.rte_.rar


Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:58 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:06 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Marooned in the frozen wastes. send help.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gun firing but no boolets?
You didn't finish defining the round for the gun, so it was just firing nothing. The code for the round should be:
Code:
AddAmmo = Round
   PresetName = 50 cal
   ParticleCount = 1
   Particle = MOPixel
      PresetName = Particle
      Mass = 0.05
      LifeTime = 1600
      Sharpness = 200
      HitsMOs = 1
      GetsHitByMOs = 0
      Color = Color
         R = 143
         G = 143
         B = 143
      Atom = Atom
         Material = Material
            CopyOf = Bullet Metal
         TrailColor = Color
            R = 155
            G = 155
            B = 155
         TrailLength = 25
   FireVelocity = 100
   Shell = MOSParticle
      CopyOf = Casing
   ShellVelocity = 5
   Separation = 10

Also, you probably don't want to give our bullets a sharpness of 200, unless you like incredible terrain rape. You can increase the damage the bullets do by increasing their mass or fire velocity.


Thu Mar 27, 2014 9:16 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:58 am
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gun firing but no boolets?
FurryLizard wrote:
You didn't finish defining the round for the gun, so it was just firing nothing. The code for the round should be:

Also, you probably don't want to give our bullets a sharpness of 200, unless you like incredible terrain rape. You can increase the damage the bullets do by increasing their mass or fire velocity.

Allright, thanks a lot :smile:

Now it crashes with the dump Could not match property Error happened in Test.rte/Devices/Ammo.ini at line 15

which should be Atom = Atom.. ?


Thu Mar 27, 2014 9:25 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:32 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gun firing but no boolets?
FurryLizard wrote:
Also, you probably don't want to give our bullets a sharpness of 200, unless you like incredible terrain rape. You can increase the damage the bullets do by increasing their mass or fire velocity.

...which would achieve the same thing, more or less. :roll:

If you want to reduce terrain damage, the best bet is to use a script on the projectile that cranks down the sharpness when it detects terrain ahead of it.

--------------------------------

Kattolil wrote:
Now it crashes with the dump Could not match property Error happened in Test.rte/Devices/Ammo.ini at line 15

which should be Atom = Atom.. ?

It should be "Atom = Atom", yes. Make sure the tabbing/indentation is correct, and that there isn't a space after the second "Atom" just to be on the safe side.


Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:07 pm
Profile YIM
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:06 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Marooned in the frozen wastes. send help.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gun firing but no boolets?
Arcalane wrote:
FurryLizard wrote:
Also, you probably don't want to give our bullets a sharpness of 200, unless you like incredible terrain rape. You can increase the damage the bullets do by increasing their mass or fire velocity.

...which would achieve the same thing, more or less. :roll:

If you want to reduce terrain damage, the best bet is to use a script on the projectile that cranks down the sharpness when it detects terrain ahead of it.

--------------------------------


Good point, apparently I can't type and logic at the same time. :???:

Anyway, I did a test comparing one mag of this to two mags of the coalition gatling gun


so yeah, that sharpness should be reduced to around 20, or as Arcalane suggested, you can use a lua script.

and yes, line 15 should be Atom = Atom, if you continue to to have problems after following Arcalane's advice then you can try defining the MOPixel before the round so you don't have so worry about the tabbing as much (seen in the .ini files for every vanilla faction outside of base.rte)


Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:34 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.022s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]