View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:45 pm



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Seemingly Unfixable Line Error? 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:10 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Seemingly Unfixable Line Error?
I'm new to the forum (as a posting member) so I don't know if this is the correct place to post modding troubles. Sorry :P

On to the point, I'm getting into CC modding, following the Wiki tutorial and am getting this error:



Which persists no matter what I do to the code.



I even copy+pasted from the wiki for that one section to see if I did it wrong, but am still getting the error.


Tue Jan 26, 2016 3:01 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3030
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: Seemingly Unfixable Line Error?
It might be helpful to post the entirety of the .ini code.
But before that make sure you use tabs and not spaces which may result in a simple syntax error.
Otherwise that looks correct.


Tue Jan 26, 2016 3:41 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:10 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Seemingly Unfixable Line Error?
dragonxp wrote:
It might be helpful to post the entirety of the .ini code.
But before that make sure you use tabs and not spaces which may result in a simple syntax error.
Otherwise that looks correct.


Here's the ini, if it'll help.


I also checked for spaces but didn't find any.

Is it possible that the wiki is outdated in terms of coding used?


Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:00 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 5:30 am
Posts: 853
Location: Auckland, NZ
Reply with quote
Post Re: Seemingly Unfixable Line Error?
Put it into my game and it ran first time after I removed all the spaces.
Not quite sure what was going on for you but here is the working file unaltered.

Also one thing to note is that "InstanceName" is obsolete and should be replaced with "PresetName".
Apparently there are a few bugs with copying from InstanceName.


Attachments:
Pistol.ini [1.79 KiB]
Downloaded 111 times
Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:29 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:10 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Seemingly Unfixable Line Error?
Major wrote:
Put it into my game and it ran first time after I removed all the spaces.
Not quite sure what was going on for you but here is the working file unaltered.


Thank's man. I didn't realize by spaces he meant the extra tabs.

Quote:
Also one thing to note is that "InstanceName" is obsolete and should be replaced with "PresetName".
Apparently there are a few bugs with copying from InstanceName.


I'll definitely keep that in mind.

Thank's for the help guys :)


Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:12 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3030
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: Seemingly Unfixable Line Error?
CC .ini code reads code in segments determined by the tabs.
However, I initially meant literal spaces instead of tabs.
Sometimes when pasting things it may be 3 spaces instead of a tab which would be problematic for CC to read.


Wed Jan 27, 2016 4:42 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 5:30 am
Posts: 853
Location: Auckland, NZ
Reply with quote
Post Re: Seemingly Unfixable Line Error?
No worries, glad I could help.


Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:09 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.023s | 14 Queries | GZIP : Off ]