View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 10:12 am



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Error at line 1 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:29 pm
Posts: 62
Reply with quote
Post Error at line 1
http://luabin.foszor.com/2136

I get an error at line 1 when loading this. Oddly enough, when I accidentally made another error in the Round Mes section, it pointed to that line instead of line 1.


Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:56 am
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
What is loaded before this ini? Usually line 1 errors are actually from the file before.


Fri Nov 27, 2009 6:02 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:29 pm
Posts: 62
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
No, when I comment the .ini out, it loads fine.


Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:53 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am
Posts: 4074
Location: That quaint little British colony down south
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
I doubt it will work, but have you tried PresetName instead of InstanceName?
Another thing you could try is to define the particle separately and use a CopyOf, to see if it's specifically the particle code. You can test this by typing gibberish at points to check exactly where the problem is.


Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:41 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:29 pm
Posts: 62
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
Okay, I tried that, and pinpointed the error to this line:
CopyOf = Round Mes

when I gibberish it, it gives me the regular error with details, when I gibberish anything after it it crashes.


Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:53 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am
Posts: 4074
Location: That quaint little British colony down south
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
Try instead defining the round right there and seeing what happens.
If the same error appears do the gibberish thing again until you find the exact line again.


Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:04 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:29 pm
Posts: 62
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
I did that, and figured out the problem wasn't the Round Mes, but the linebreak after it. Inserting gibberish on the empty line after the definition produces the crash, but putting it on Separation = 5 gives a normal error.


Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:24 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am
Posts: 4074
Location: That quaint little British colony down south
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
Try just deleting the line break then.
If that doesn't work I have the sneaking suspicion that the way CC handles the defining of an object results in this kind of error when parameters are not set.
On that note, have you tried using PresetName instead yet?


Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:31 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:29 pm
Posts: 62
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
Yes, I replaced all of them with PresetNames.

Also, tried deleting it, no luck. Apparently Separation = 5 is causing the error?

Nope, tried deleting that, still no difference.


Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:41 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am
Posts: 4074
Location: That quaint little British colony down south
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
Try copy pasting into a new text file but retyping that few lines?


Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:58 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:29 pm
Posts: 62
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
No dice.


Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:11 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:09 am
Posts: 1115
Location: Being The Great Juju
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
Try this.

Code:
AddEffect = MOPixel
                PresetName = Particle Mes               
                Mass = 0.5
                ScriptPath = FO3.rte/Mesmetron.lua
                RestThreshold = 500
                LifeTime = 50
                Sharpness = 1.25
                HitsMOs = 1
                GetsHitByMOs = 0
                Color = Color
                        R = 1
                        G = 100
                        B = 255
                Atom = Atom
                        Material = Material
                                CopyOf = Bullet Metal
                        TrailColor = Color
                                R = 255
                                G = 159
                                B = 159
                        TrailLength = 10

AddAmmo = Round
        InstanceName = Round Mes
        ParticleCount = 1
        Particle = MOPixel
                CopyOf = Particle Mes
        Shell = MOSParticle
                CopyOf = Shell
        FireVelocity = 50
        ShellVelocity = 5
        Separation = 5


EDIT: Any luck? Did this do the trick?


Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:14 pm
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
well your tabbing is all kinds of ♥♥♥♥ up ragdollmaster so that'll probably break

OP if the error is inconsistent and you can't figure it out try these two things (in order)

1. Put your code into a completely should-work state. Ignore any of this gibberish bull♥♥♥♥ allstone is feeding you. Then make a completely new .ini, paste all the code in, and reference it in Index.ini AFTER the previous file. Then, in Mesmetron.ini (or w/e it is), add this:
AddAmmo = TDExplosive
CopyOf = Frag Grenade

If that errors, then it's a problem with the file itself (for whatever reason). If it instead errors again on the next file, proceed to step 2.

2. Completely remove, rewrite, and redo your code. Ideally in an entirely seperate RTE.


Fri Nov 27, 2009 8:27 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:29 pm
Posts: 62
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
Actually, I changed it to Mezz.ini and referenced it first in Index.ini. No change. Also: No, ragdoll, it didn't.

Grif: I tried copying everything in the N99.ini file over to the Mezz.ini file, overwriting it. It worked fine. Then I added the Mesmetron.lua script to the MOPixel. It loaded just fine. So then I went through and added everything I could remember was in the previous .ini. It worked.

I don't know what the problem was. Thanks for your guys' help though!

EDIT: oh wait I fired it in-game and it crashed

Yeah I can't actually use the gun without the game crashing. What now?


Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:28 pm
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Error at line 1
What's in Mesmetron.lua?


Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:51 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.032s | 17 Queries | GZIP : Off ]