View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:31 am



Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 Mission: Train Chase 
Author Message
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:34 pm
Posts: 959
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
I guess that setting the mass of the train to 30000 will solve this issue :)


Sat May 05, 2012 12:52 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6168
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
Hey weegee, I was wondering, the map has some tunnels, is it possible to make the train go through there, or it must go in a straight line always?


Sat May 05, 2012 10:53 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:19 am
Posts: 1278
Location: Places. And things.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
Those tunnels are more there for you to take cover in while the train passes overhead. At least that's what I use them for.


Sun May 06, 2012 12:06 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6168
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
I prefer to use the stations =P


Sun May 06, 2012 12:08 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 11:48 pm
Posts: 59
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
hey weegee is it possible to buy a train that goes in a straight line in build mode because i know there is a commented out train in the base.rte or something but when i un-// it spawn and then disappears. :-(


Sun May 06, 2012 1:24 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6168
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
If I'm not wrong, the reason why it does that is because it needs a special map for it to work.


Sun May 06, 2012 1:42 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:23 am
Posts: 269
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
Just my opinion, but the damage from bullet wounds on each train feels a bit low.

I just emptied the entire clip of my 1,000 bullet haxgatling gun onto the front train and it's still running at +1000 something hp.

It's susceptibility to impulse based damage seems quite suitable though.

edit:
Arcalane wrote:
Shame the physics don't really allow for you boarding the back of the train and fighting to the front. :roll:

Image
Or do they? :)
Which reminds me, I should add a mini-turret to that gyrowheel.


Sun May 06, 2012 6:33 am
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:34 pm
Posts: 959
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
Asklar, the train is hovered entirely by the script. The script don't care about real altitde, it just pins the train, maintaining position at which train was originally spawned. So with this version of train you can't make it go underground, but you can write your own train with blackjack, and you know.

ryry1237, yep the train is quite tough, I'll probably rebalance it someway.

TheStragedyGuy, I guess you need to define it in Base.rte to do that.


Sun May 06, 2012 8:20 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6168
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
I'm pretty sure you can board it with an actor which has Mehman's mobility script on it.


Sun May 06, 2012 8:49 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:58 pm
Posts: 92
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
4 remote explosives under one train = instawin

was frickin hilarious though, train FLIPPED into orbit


Thu May 10, 2012 3:29 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am
Posts: 4555
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
What I like to do is buy Unitec's Blood soldier (the badass black guy) because he seems like an explosives specialist.
Then I get the Unitec M202 and WASP launchers, along with a ♥♥♥♥ of General Industries C4 and a Dead Man's Detonator.
I end up destroying all the train cars except the lead, and then I chuck a ton of C4 into a Station and wait for it to come by. I stand in front of it, and wait for the turrets to kill me. The detonator causes the C4 to blow when I die, taking out the train and myself in a blaze of glory.

All the while I play epic final boss music so I feel like I'm beating a final boss. It's quite fun.


Sat May 12, 2012 11:51 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:23 am
Posts: 269
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
I really wish there were more of these kinds of maps where there isn't exactly a super challenging goal, but rather just something that you'd really want to blow up.


Sun May 13, 2012 2:15 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am
Posts: 4555
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
I just squished the train with an MPAM. Ha.
Also: One mag from a StrikeRaven laser sword thing insta-kills a train car.


Weegee, do you ever plan on making a proper mission based off of this? I'd really be interested.
Another thing I want to ask, what makes the "Jumpy" level different from the others?


Sat May 19, 2012 1:17 am
Profile WWW
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:34 pm
Posts: 959
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
Miggles, what else can you do with a train in the mission? If you have any ideas I could implement them. And in Jumpy scene you just need to fly through the holes, that's all. You can use any scene with this activity, just define areas DropZone - point where the train spawns and Brain - point where player brain spawned.


Sat May 19, 2012 2:58 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mission: Train Chase
I dunno if you are into ideas from lowly newbs, but here's my suggestions for this activity -

I think the train's health definitely needs tweaking, but that has been mentioned already. One feature that would add quite a bit is having the difficulty slider somehow regulate what weapons the train has, ranging from some kind of light machine gun to the lasers with rocket launchers on the ends or something ridiculous at the highest difficulty. This would make it more dynamic, say if the player wants to spawn soldiers and peck away at it as it goes by or if they want a train firing 4 simultaneous rockets whenever it sees them. I recall 'floating mines' existing in one mod or another, perhaps having the train release those intermittently in one scene would be an interesting twist?

A version where green reinforcements land in one of the bases (and stay inside and shoot out) would be pretty awesome, though I have no idea how hard that would be to implement.

Having the trains stop and shoot when obstructed would be interesting, but I'm not sure how that would affect the dynamics. It would however prevent instant physics kills of the lead car. Alternately, would it be hard to have the train gain and lose speed randomly? Something to break the consistency would add a lot more variability to the gameplay.

I really like this scene - it's one of the best ones to play in multiplayer aside from One Man Army variants.


Mon May 21, 2012 11:41 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.035s | 17 Queries | GZIP : Off ]