Data Realms Fan Forums
http://forums.datarealms.com/

Sandbox: Firing Range V2.1 - Last updated 16.12.12
http://forums.datarealms.com/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=31427
Page 3 of 6

Author:  Zeroxys [ Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 24/07

I don't know if its been considered, but maybe try making one with no roof. Maybe something like the area the dummies spawn in on Dummy Assault. It would help in bomb testing and for craft/vehicles such as the chimera or various nuclear devices. :smile:

Author:  Bad Boy [ Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 24/07

Luringen wrote:
-A trigger for setting clones in sentry mode with a weak blunderpop (as they would run towards you if they were unarmed, they can't hurt doors and the gun is extremely weak). Might give them a custom, unbuyable 0-damage pistol later.
Here's a better way, it'll keep them from moving at all. Add this anywhere in the Update function, I hope there are no typos:
Code:
if self.Patrol == 0 then
   for actor in MovableMan.Actors do
      -- I'm assuming you defined self.CPUTeam at the start since it's common practice
      if actor.Team == self.CPUTeam and actor.AIMode == Actor.AIMODE_SENTRY then
         actor:GetController():SetState(Controller.MOVE_LEFT , false);
         actor:GetController():SetState(Controller.MOVE_RIGHT , false);
         actor:GetController():SetState(Controller.BODY_JUMP , false);
         actor:GetController():SetState(Controller.BODY_JUMPSTART , false);
         actor:GetController():SetState(Controller.BODY_CROUCH , false);
      end
   end
end


For more on this look here:
http://wiki.datarealms.com/LuaDocs/Controller

Author:  Luringen [ Fri Jul 27, 2012 1:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 24/07

@Zeroxys: I'll see what i can do, right now there is a buildin meant for bomb testing to the right of the main facility. If i can keep clones from engaging hostiles, I'll add it.

@Bad Boy: Thanks, that's perfect! I'll clean up my code and implement it.

Author:  Sir [ Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 24/07

Luringen wrote:
Main changes:
-Bigger map
-A trigger for setting clones in sentry mode with a weak blunderpop (as they would run towards you if they were unarmed, they can't hurt doors and the gun is extremely weak). Might give them a custom, unbuyable 0-damage pistol later.
-A trigger for decreasing spawn delay from 5 seconds to 2,5


This is much better, although the blunderbuss is not that weak and can easily kill vanilla units with a few good shots.

Author:  Luringen [ Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 24/07

@Sir: Bad Boy showed me how to deactivate movement for actors, so they'll be unarmed in the next version.

Author:  Sir [ Sun Jul 29, 2012 1:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 24/07

Luringen wrote:
@Sir: Bad Boy showed me how to deactivate movement for actors, so they'll be unarmed in the next version.

Great! :)

Author:  Luringen [ Sun Jul 29, 2012 2:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 29/07

New version is up, finally put it in the OP. Large changes in how respawning is handled, and a new outdoors area with automatic replacement of new clones. The old chamber feels outdated and useless now... If no-one wants it, it might get removed.

The outdoors firing range might be a bit small with three spawnpoints, I'll likely increase its size and add platforms for shooting long range guns and explosives. For those uses, the indoors firing range is better ATM.

BTW, the pulse digger is awesome for clearing up the mess.

Author:  Asklar [ Sun Jul 29, 2012 7:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 29/07

Keep the old chamber! I like to use it as a waiting room or something like that =P

Author:  Luringen [ Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 29/07

Sure, it can stay. But I should probably give it the same automatic replacement of dead clones thing as the outside one.
I dont use the underground chamber myself, so what do you think? Are the settings really necessary anymore? Does anyone use moving clones? I'd love to make the chamber more useful, so any ideas on what to do with it would be great.

Author:  Asklar [ Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 29/07

Could you make the chamber made of test material or something like that? Using some tough explosives at times damages the terrain so badly that I usually reset the scene too soon.

Author:  Luringen [ Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 29/07

Yeah, that's a problem. I have no idea how to fix it (or if it's possible), but I'll check the wiki and experiment a bit.

Author:  Arcalane [ Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 29/07

Custom bunker modules. ;)

Author:  Zeroxys [ Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 29/07

Luringen wrote:
Sure, it can stay. But I should probably give it the same automatic replacement of dead clones thing as the outside one.
I dont use the underground chamber myself, so what do you think? Are the settings really necessary anymore? Does anyone use moving clones? I'd love to make the chamber more useful, so any ideas on what to do with it would be great.


IDK about everyone else but i would prefer stationary targets. *I can't shoot* :???:

Author:  Asklar [ Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 29/07

You can already do that, just stand on the center "switch", the one that says "Clones jump into pit". Standing on it will make it change to "Clones stand still" or something like it.

Author:  Arcalane [ Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Sandbox: Firing Range V2 - Last updated 29/07

Zeroxys wrote:
Luringen wrote:
Sure, it can stay. But I should probably give it the same automatic replacement of dead clones thing as the outside one.
I dont use the underground chamber myself, so what do you think? Are the settings really necessary anymore? Does anyone use moving clones? I'd love to make the chamber more useful, so any ideas on what to do with it would be great.


IDK about everyone else but i would prefer stationary targets. *I can't shoot* :???:


Then start learning how to shoot moving targets. :P

Page 3 of 6 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/