View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:16 pm



Reply to topic  [ 98 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2] 
Author Message

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:10 pm
Posts: 22
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
So, a question: is there generally a consistent relationship between particles and FPS? I only ask because even though my PC is win in other games (6 GB RAM, quad processor, NVIDIA 9800, etc. etc. etc.), it drops the CC timescale to about 0.5 when there are maybe 1000 particles on-screen. Obviously this isn't an issue if it's because I detonated a nuke (it'll be over soon), but in most games, it just gets cut down to 0.6 permanently after only a few minutes.

Is this the normal kind of performance to expect? I've had to play only on Horiz Lands lately because it's so much smaller than the others...


Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:06 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 1545
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
IriathZhul wrote:
So, a question: is there generally a consistent relationship between particles and FPS? I only ask because even though my PC is win in other games (6 GB RAM, quad processor, NVIDIA 9800, etc. etc. etc.), it drops the CC timescale to about 0.5 when there are maybe 1000 particles on-screen. Obviously this isn't an issue if it's because I detonated a nuke (it'll be over soon), but in most games, it just gets cut down to 0.6 permanently after only a few minutes.

Is this the normal kind of performance to expect? I've had to play only on Horiz Lands lately because it's so much smaller than the others...

I will probably explain this for the hundred time, but anyway:

1. GRAPHICS CARDS DON'T DO ♥♥♥♥ IN CORTEX COMMAND. (nor is yours that much of a bragging right.)
2. CC only uses on core.
3. CC hates certain processors, please indicate the type and speed.
4. Search function, is your komrad.

When you've went through all these steps you can come back and ask your question again.

For a more direct answer: Of course there is a relationship between particles and FPS. The game has to calculate the position of every particle every frame if timeschaling is on.


Sun Jan 23, 2011 6:07 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 4521
Location: Constant motion
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
maart3n wrote:
Of course there is a relationship between particles and FPS. The game has to calculate the position of every particle every frame if timeschaling is on.

It could even be directly proportional, but due to the fact that there are so many other factors nobody has given us reliable data.


Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:14 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 1:19 am
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
The slowdown in the game is desirable compared to actual lag/stuttering which is intolerable.

My timescale during busy parts in the game can dip down to 0.5, but usually never further than that, and even that is perfectly tolerable.

However there are parts in the game where I'll notice a rapid shift from

1.00 to 0.98 or 0.97, and it will happen in quick succession.

This for some reason completely F*cks my game, it becomes intolerably jerky.


It seems the more I play it that the more the actual gamebreaking stuttering occurs when the AI uses any sort of thruster at all.

I did not experience this to any comparable degree in the demo, and I have heard something about "improved" ai.

Has the AI regarding its usage of thrusters of any kind, be they dropship, or jetpack been altered as well?

I would imagine you'd have your culprit right there...


Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:33 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:05 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.0]
Thanks Wery Much!! :)


Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:32 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:05 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.0]
Thanks!!!


Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:02 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:06 pm
Posts: 125
Location: london
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
Excuse me but how do you change asin where are they?


Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:57 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:06 pm
Posts: 125
Location: london
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
where and how do I change the deltatime ?????????????????????


Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:14 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
Geti wrote:
Open Base.rte/Settings.ini now.

DELTATIME FIDDLING
DeltaTime is the amount of time taken to render each simulation frame (not graphical frame), in seconds. A DeltaTime of 0.5 means there will be 2 frames per second. DeltaTime is the most important variable in relation to lag. By default it should be set to 0.0166667. In other words, Cortex Command is set to run at ~60 FPS by default.
If you experience constant lag, your computer is quite likely not powerful enough to play CC at such a high framerate (it could also be that CC inexplicably doesn't like your computer, which seems to be a common issue).
"But", I hear you asking, "if my computer's hardware is the problem, how can I make it run any faster?". We make the game run faster by making it simulate less frames per second. Each simulated frame means a lot of calculations, so cutting down the number of frames cuts down the amount of work your processor has to do.
If CC is running slowly, try the following values until you can run Zombie Cave or Prom Grounds (or any other small map) at full speed (or until you're happy enough with performance):
Code:
DeltaTime = 0.0181818    // 55 FPS - No real change
DeltaTime = 0.02   // 50 FPS
DeltaTime = 0.0222222   // 45 FPS - Mildly Choppy
DeltaTime = 0.025   // 40 FPS
DeltaTime = 0.0285714   // 35 FPS - Getting bad
DeltaTime = 0.0333333   // 30 FPS - Minimum tolerable
DeltaTime = 0.05   // 20 FPS - My PIII can run CC too, guise!



Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:20 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:06 pm
Posts: 125
Location: london
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
gbless you mayn..... :)


Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:40 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 5:43 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Piaseczno, Poland
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
Does AllegroConfig.txt file in Base.rte does something?


Mon Dec 26, 2011 2:09 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 4886
Location: some compy
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
mario972 wrote:
Does AllegroConfig.txt file in Base.rte does something?

It's the config file for allegro, something CC uses for input and a few base game things afaik. Nothing I've seen in there affects performance.


Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:43 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:23 am
Posts: 269
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
Tried playing game in 0.0016667. (one tenth of the original)
Every gib, every bullet, every emitter, every little dirt particle...
Had all achieved perfection.

Too bad it ran at 10% normal speed in the tutorial map.

What's
RealToSimCap = 0.074999
do?


Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:21 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:20 pm
Posts: 12
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
I have changed my RealToSimCap to 0.174999 and it seemed to make it run better along with Delta thing to 0.012. I also Tried to set my Delta to the number suggested for High end pcs and the game runs fine but my mouse because very un responsive and jumpy, but the timescale etc stay nice and the game plays nice just the mouse screws up.


Thu Jun 07, 2012 3:29 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:13 am
Posts: 151
Reply with quote
Post Re: How to make Cortex Command lag less. [V1.2.2]
The Ctrl+O doesn't seem to work anymore. I noticed this on both b27 and 1.0. It did work on b26. I'm on Windows 7 btw. :bounce:


Sat Sep 29, 2012 5:35 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 98 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.079s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]