View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 2:02 pm



Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
 Health bars above actors? 
Author Message

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 6:49 pm
Posts: 69
Reply with quote
Post Health bars above actors?
Is there a file i can simply rename or edit to make it not show health bars above actors? If possible is there a way so i can still see health bars over my own actors without seeing the enemy teams?

This might be something to include in future updates as it makes the game a lot more tactical and the ai less predictable.


Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:31 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:46 pm
Posts: 5212
Location: The Grills Locker.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Health bars above actors?
As far as I know, the only way to do so is to go in each actor's code and change their CharHeight value to something ridiculously high. That is not recommended, although, as it causes weird issues with the AI and aiming.


Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:27 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 6:49 pm
Posts: 69
Reply with quote
Post Re: Health bars above actors?
Aren't there sprites for the health bar or something? Couldn't i just back those up and replace them with a blank picture?


Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:59 pm
Profile
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:53 pm
Posts: 1896
Location: in my little gay bunker
Reply with quote
Post Re: Health bars above actors?
Go to Base.rte\GUIs\Skins\Base and make a copy of fatfont.bmp and replace it with the one below. I removed a few icons from it and I am not sure what it affects besides the health and heart icon


Attachments:
fatfont.bmp [40.36 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:06 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 6:49 pm
Posts: 69
Reply with quote
Post Re: Health bars above actors?
Thank you very much. Time to give this a test.

Edit:

Ok so the bugs are as follows.

No gold counter
No countdown until a unit drops in
No score for how many of their units you have killed


Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:17 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:58 am
Posts: 2054
Reply with quote
Post Re: Health bars above actors?
You could do something hackish with glows.


Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:17 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:46 am
Posts: 1765
Location: ..............
Reply with quote
Post Re: Health bars above actors?
Eviltebor wrote:
Thank you very much. Time to give this a test.

Edit:

Ok so the bugs are as follows.

No gold counter
No countdown until a unit drops in
No score for how many of their units you have killed

Those Counters/scores all share the same spritesheet.

If you erased hearts/numbers, you erased them for pretty much the entire game.


Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:35 pm
Profile
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:53 pm
Posts: 1896
Location: in my little gay bunker
Reply with quote
Post Re: Health bars above actors?
Ah, I was sure something else would happen. Oh well I tried to help


Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:27 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 4886
Location: some compy
Reply with quote
Post Re: Health bars above actors?
mail2345 wrote:
You could do something hackish with glows.
do pink glows render over the gui too? Oo;;


Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:17 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 6:49 pm
Posts: 69
Reply with quote
Post Re: Health bars above actors?
So if they do we'd have to find a way to create pink glows above every actor? Won't this be hard to do and possibly mess up whenever another actor flies over the top where the health bar is?


Sat Jul 25, 2009 9:37 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Health bars above actors?
for actor in MovableMan.Actors do
local glow = CreateMOPixel("glow","module");
glow.Pos = Vector(actor.Pos.X,actor.AboveHUDPos);
glow.Vel = actor.Vel;
MovableMan:AddParticle(glow);
end


Sat Jul 25, 2009 4:21 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm
Posts: 1916
Location: Flint Hills
Reply with quote
Post Re: Health bars above actors?
How do these pink glows work anyways? They're supposed to mask out stuff like out of palette pink, right? I can't seem to use them properly.

But to contribute, glows can indeed render over the GUI. For example, my black glows can. The variable "Effect always shows" or whatever it is may have to do with it.


Sun Jul 26, 2009 4:03 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.053s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]