View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:00 am



Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 Techion Brain Mech 
Author Message
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:14 am
Posts: 3966
Location: Canadida
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
(To put it into words that you can understand: THE CONTENT DEV TEAM ARE MADE UP THE MASTER RACE, EACH HAS 300 CONFIRMED KILLS; THEy CAN MOD WITH SUCH A PRECISION THAT IS NOT SEEN ON THIS EARTH)

For the most part, you shouldn't be projecting yourself onto the drl dev team; they are a competent, and nice bunch, and I won't let you hear the end of it if you ruin my boys' day.
Regardless of being on the team, they are more a part of the modding community, let alone the community, than you are, and the core dev team.


Sun May 25, 2014 4:53 am
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 3127
Location: A little south and a lot west of Moscow
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
Sims_Doc wrote:
thats not really community since they are on the team now, i was trying to imply that ask contributors to the modding section for usage of sprites, code and such..

What it boils down to is that there are possible legal issues with implementing mods from the community directly into the game. If somebody makes content to put in the game, they'll have to sign a contract stating that it belongs to Data Realms LLC. Setting all that up is kind of a pain, so Data generally looks for people who would be willing to contribute more than once and just adds them to the team. It really is exactly what you're describing, but pared down to a smaller group of people for the sake of keeping things clean (plus it's a lot easier to communicate and organize work with, say, 5 people rather than 25).

Quote:
didn't numgun leave and take all his awesome mods with him?

He took down links to some (most?) of them, but most of them have been reposted. Unless you mean the stuff in the main game, in which case he actually didn't take anything with him.


Sun May 25, 2014 7:32 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:45 am
Posts: 911
Location: No Comment.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
TheLastBanana wrote:
Sims_Doc wrote:
thats not really community since they are on the team now, i was trying to imply that ask contributors to the modding section for usage of sprites, code and such..

What it boils down to is that there are possible legal issues with implementing mods from the community directly into the game. If somebody makes content to put in the game, they'll have to sign a contract stating that it belongs to Data Realms LLC. Setting all that up is kind of a pain, so Data generally looks for people who would be willing to contribute more than once and just adds them to the team. It really is exactly what you're describing, but pared down to a smaller group of people for the sake of keeping things clean (plus it's a lot easier to communicate and organize work with, say, 5 people rather than 25).



correct me if i'm wrong but people are able to allow usage or even sell but are able keep their intellectual rights and as a result they can allow multiplier parties to use one thing, but that might be just something here..


Sun May 25, 2014 8:35 am
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 3127
Location: A little south and a lot west of Moscow
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
Right, but to prove that you signed away those rights, you need some paperwork, which usually involves bringing in a lawyer.


Sun May 25, 2014 9:10 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 5:08 am
Posts: 430
Location: Reconstructing W.A.S Forces,
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
but look at the brain mech in this image Image


Sun May 25, 2014 9:32 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6187
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
Haloboy has a point, I guess factions have a "light" or normal brainbot and some have the heavy version.


Sun May 25, 2014 11:40 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:45 am
Posts: 911
Location: No Comment.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
haloman wrote:
but look at the brain mech in this image Image

that's more of a robot and i guess the dropship is techion rather than base.. i


Mon May 26, 2014 2:34 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 5:08 am
Posts: 430
Location: Reconstructing W.A.S Forces,
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
yea maby wee should do a technon expanshon vannila mod


Mon May 26, 2014 2:47 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:45 am
Posts: 911
Location: No Comment.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
haloman wrote:
yea maby wee should do a technon expanshon vannila mod


might as well do everything but even then, if i was to make a mod it would probably be dummy related and probably already in the works.


Mon May 26, 2014 4:44 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:42 am
Posts: 142
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
Open up Techion.rte/Actors/Whitebot/Whitebot.ini and paste this code to the end of the file:

Code:
AddActor = AHuman
   CopyOf = Whitebot
   PresetName = White Brainbot
   Description = Brain case mounted on a versatile Techion Whitebot. This body allows the Brain unit to move around freely while commanding units, but it can by no means survive on its own without good protection.
   AddToGroup = Brains
   Head = Attachable
      CopyOf = Brainbot Head A
      ParentOffset = Vector
         X = -1
         Y = -8


Congratulations, you've just made the brainbot in that screenshot.

On the matter of the dropship: I've always found it strange that the base rockets have a blue and metal color sceme, while the dropship has an orange and metal color scheme. You'd think tradestar would paint its vehicles in the same color sceme.


Mon May 26, 2014 5:06 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:45 am
Posts: 911
Location: No Comment.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
that's why i begun to resprite stuff that didn't match but when i got to the dropship i wasn't sure if i should.


Tue May 27, 2014 3:26 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:31 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Somewhere, over the rainbow.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
It would be really cool to see those in B30, fits into the game perfectly. I have always wondered where are those mechs. Been watching Datarealm's art...


Sun Jul 27, 2014 4:46 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 11:15 am
Posts: 12
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
Yes, this techion mech need to be addead again!!!


Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:30 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:42 am
Posts: 142
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
Soon...

Image


Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:59 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 5:42 am
Posts: 142
Reply with quote
Post Re: Techion Brain Mech
Ok, soonish. I was hoping to get this done last week, and then this weekend, and then today, but RL keeps interfering. For anyone confused, this is the mod that sim doc linked to in his first post in this thread that was never finished, I managed to fix the problems with the arms, gave it some new techion style weapons, and now all that's left is redoing all the wounds and adding gibs.


Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:56 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.024s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]