View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 4:57 am



Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 Combat Control Room V1.2 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:40 am
Posts: 610
Location: Deep below The Map of Mars
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
Changing the way "i" is used in the code also would allow you get more bombs. Space them closer together by using a smaller X increment and make more of them by increasing i. (I think? I'm still running on theory in lua. I'll have to try this to confirm it.)

This is a really fun thing to have in a long battle, thanks for updating it with such neat extras.


Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:16 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:32 pm
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
if i changed this
Code:
  if UInputMan:KeyPressed(20) and self.currentfunds >= 210 then
   ActivityMan:GetActivity():SetTeamFunds(self.currentfunds-210, 0);
   local ship = CreateACRocket("Drop Crate");
   ship.Team = self.Team
   local robot = CreateAHuman("Soldier Elite");
   robot.AIMode = Actor.AIMODE_SENTRY;
   robot:AddInventoryItem(CreateHDFirearm("FAMAS G2"));
   robot:AddInventoryItem(CreateHDFirearm("HK MP5K"));
   robot:AddInventoryItem(CreateHDFirearm("HK CAWS"));
   ship:AddInventoryItem(robot);
   ship.Pos = Vector(self.CursorOffset.X / self.scalex , 0)
   MovableMan:AddActor(ship);
    end

    if self.CursorOffset.X < 0 then
   self.CursorOffset.X = 184
    end
    if self.CursorOffset.X > 184 then
   self.CursorOffset.X = 0
    end
    if self.CursorOffset.Y < 4 then
   self.CursorOffset.Y = 4
    end
    if self.CursorOffset.Y > 79 then
   self.CursorOffset.Y = 79
    end

    self.cursor = CreateMOPixel("Radar Cursor")
    self.cursor.Pos = self.CornerPos + self.CursorOffset
    self.cursor.Lifetime = 30
    MovableMan:AddParticle(self.cursor)
  end

  if self.AirStrikeTimer:IsPastSimMS(5000) and self.ToAirStrike then
   self.ToAirStrike = false
   for i = 0 , 5 , 1 do
      self.Bomb = CreateTDExplosive("[b]Standard Bomb[/b]")
      self.Bomb.Pos = Vector(self.AirStrikePos.X + 40 * (i-3) , -50)
      self.Bomb.Vel = Vector(0,-5 * i)
      MovableMan:AddItem(self.Bomb)
   end
   print("airstriked")
   end

to this
Code:
  if UInputMan:KeyPressed(20) and self.currentfunds >= 210 then
   ActivityMan:GetActivity():SetTeamFunds(self.currentfunds-210, 0);
   local ship = CreateACRocket("Drop Crate");
   ship.Team = self.Team
   local robot = CreateAHuman("Soldier Elite");
   robot.AIMode = Actor.AIMODE_SENTRY;
   robot:AddInventoryItem(CreateHDFirearm("FAMAS G2"));
   robot:AddInventoryItem(CreateHDFirearm("HK MP5K"));
   robot:AddInventoryItem(CreateHDFirearm("HK CAWS"));
   ship:AddInventoryItem(robot);
   ship.Pos = Vector(self.CursorOffset.X / self.scalex , 0)
   MovableMan:AddActor(ship);
    end

    if self.CursorOffset.X < 0 then
   self.CursorOffset.X = 184
    end
    if self.CursorOffset.X > 184 then
   self.CursorOffset.X = 0
    end
    if self.CursorOffset.Y < 4 then
   self.CursorOffset.Y = 4
    end
    if self.CursorOffset.Y > 79 then
   self.CursorOffset.Y = 79
    end

    self.cursor = CreateMOPixel("Radar Cursor")
    self.cursor.Pos = self.CornerPos + self.CursorOffset
    self.cursor.Lifetime = 30
    MovableMan:AddParticle(self.cursor)
  end

  if self.AirStrikeTimer:IsPastSimMS(5000) and self.ToAirStrike then
   self.ToAirStrike = false
   for i = 0 , 50 , 1 do
      self.Bomb = CreateTDExplosive("[b]Cluster Bomb[/b]")
      self.Bomb.Pos = Vector(self.AirStrikePos.X + 40 * (i-3) , -50)
      self.Bomb.Vel = Vector(0,-5 * i)
      MovableMan:AddItem(self.Bomb)
   end
   print("airstriked")
   end
would it work?


Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:43 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 6:17 pm
Posts: 318
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
Testing it seems to be better than asking...


Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:24 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 1:01 am
Posts: 40
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
Excellent mod. The only issue is that when particles go way off the map, the minimap trackers hit the ceiling of the room and destroy the concrete portions of the ceiling. Try TacNuke corp, you'll see what I mean.


Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:34 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 12:17 am
Posts: 106
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
This is too awesome! I think I'll need to make a sprite for you.


Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:17 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:12 pm
Posts: 1525
Location: In between your sister's legs, showing her how to use a... PS3 controller!
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
Don't. I want this to fit in with vanilla.


Mon Sep 21, 2009 8:43 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 9:13 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Finland
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
I'd be delighted to recieve cool sprites, AaronLee. Also, if anyone thinks of some useful function to be implemented into this, post it here. I don't really know what to add right now.


Mon Sep 21, 2009 8:49 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:05 am
Posts: 38
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
How about the ability to place a rally marker? Every unit you have on the field will head for the marker. Sure most of them will probally die from the AI pathfinding but it'd make cordinating an actual attack easier instead of using the GoTo command on every individual unit.


Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:08 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 6:14 pm
Posts: 40
Location: In the middle of a giant mitten
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
I have tried out this mod with a few battles, and so far I like it a lot.
Now I can turtle and 'watch' the action from the comfort of my own bunker. :twisted:

I have only one minor complaint. I have seen the map showing some 'blips' going out of the boundaries of the map/radar screen.

I have a question for a possible new function.
Would it be possible to have a button that will order whatever is presently in the order menu list (such as a clone with assault rifle and a grenade, delivered by a dummy drop ship) and have it ordered to where the cursor is on the radar map?
It would be handy for some rapid response or replacement of units in the field without opening up the order menu to order the same thing multiple times and selecting a landing spot for each order when the target locations are on the other side of the map.
Heck, it could also be used for carpet bombing with those orbital drop crab bombs... (e.g., 1 cheap delivery craft, and several dozen free crabs...)

Also, since there is a button that can drop a few standard bombs, how about one that drops a few (2 or 3?) napalm bombs on the target area?


Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:25 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 2:51 pm
Posts: 209
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
rditto48801 wrote:
I have tried out this mod with a few battles, and so far I like it a lot.
Now I can turtle and 'watch' the action from the comfort of my own bunker. :twisted:

I have only one minor complaint. I have seen the map showing some 'blips' going out of the boundaries of the map/radar screen.

I have a question for a possible new function.
Would it be possible to have a button that will order whatever is presently in the order menu list (such as a clone with assault rifle and a grenade, delivered by a dummy drop ship) and have it ordered to where the cursor is on the radar map?
It would be handy for some rapid response or replacement of units in the field without opening up the order menu to order the same thing multiple times and selecting a landing spot for each order when the target locations are on the other side of the map.
Heck, it could also be used for carpet bombing with those orbital drop crab bombs... (e.g., 1 cheap delivery craft, and several dozen free crabs...)

Also, since there is a button that can drop a few standard bombs, how about one that drops a few (2 or 3?) napalm bombs on the target area?


You can edit this all you want. Read the last 6 posts.


Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:32 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm
Posts: 2932
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
Smitehappy wrote:
How about the ability to place a rally marker? Every unit you have on the field will head for the marker. Sure most of them will probally die from the AI pathfinding but it'd make cordinating an actual attack easier instead of using the GoTo command on every individual unit.


Make all units(AHumans and ACrabs) Go-To a single area.
This man is a genius, do it piipu!


Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:05 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 9:13 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Finland
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
Quote:
rally point
I doubt it's usefulness since every actor you have defending your base would leave their positions. Though something that would allow you to order actors around RTS style from the map would be pretty cool, but possibly quite hard to do. Also, I thought about having the select button transfer most of the screens powers to the selected actors. That would be useful and pretty easy to do. I'll try to implement both and see how they work in-game.


Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:41 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 2:51 pm
Posts: 209
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
You could add a feature where just like how you can change the mini map modes, you can "zoom" into a certain area.


Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:58 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 13143
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
Several ideas:
-Have an option to high-light a group of actors like in RTS's.

-Make the actor display particles into MOSParticles and give each type of actor its own mini-picture or symbol.

Other than that, great mod so far.


Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:09 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:30 am
Posts: 168
Reply with quote
Post Re: Combat Control Room V1.1b
Where in the script can I change what actor is delivered? or better yet, make it take what is in your buy menu currently and deliver that.


Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:05 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.136s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]