View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Dec 16, 2019 12:04 pm



Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 Growth Pod *Update for B30 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 12082
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crab Soldier and Growth Pod with setable rally point
Change
Code:
   if self:GetController():IsState(Controller.WEAPON_FIRE) and self.GeneratorTimer:IsPastSimMS(5000) then

to
Code:
   if self.GeneratorTimer:IsPastSimMS(5000) then


Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:33 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 4:20 am
Posts: 4771
Location: Good news everyone!
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crab Soldier and Growth Pod with setable rally point
Oops, didn't realize you had to fire. That was my mistake.
:oops:


Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:35 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:40 am
Posts: 1527
Location: In heaven, everything is fine.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crab Soldier and Growth Pod with setable rally point
Haven't tried it yet. But I think able to switch it on and off would be most convenient for the user.

The new head looks good on its own. I'll DL this and test it when I get home.


Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:34 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 12082
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-7-09) Jumpers,Signals,Toggle AutoSpawn
Update. Added togglable auto spawn, jumper soldier (which currently acts as a heavy(sorta)) and signals to indicate when the pod is ready to spawn another unit. Aaand of course some easy to change variables in a big box in the Lua script. Vars you can change are:

Code:
--------------------
----- The variables here can be changed to alter various properties of the growth pod.

   self.autospawntriggerdelay = 500; -- the delay between auto spawn toggles.
   self.lightspawncooldown = 5000; -- the cool-down time after spawning a light unit. (milliseconds)
   self.heavyspawncooldown = 8000; -- the cool-down time after spawning a heavy unit. (milliseconds)
   self.lightunittoheavy = 3; -- when auto spawn is on, a heavy unit spawns after this number of light units produced. 0 is always heavies. A negative number is always lights.

--------------------


Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:12 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:12 pm
Posts: 1525
Location: In between your sister's legs, showing her how to use a... PS3 controller!
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-7-09) Jumpers,Signals,Toggle AutoSpawn
Mmmkay. I love the jumpers (FROG-MEN!!!) Buuut... it needs a brain unit. Mega crab anyone?


Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:15 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 11:40 am
Posts: 1527
Location: In heaven, everything is fine.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-7-09) Jumpers,Signals,Toggle AutoSpawn
The jumpers should be a light unit in my mind, while the crab being the heavier one, if according to their original forms.

I'm starting to find the crab soldier cute :3


Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:24 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 3:00 am
Posts: 242
Location: The Great White North
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-7-09) Jumpers,Signals,Toggle AutoSpawn
Very nice!
One bizarre thing though, I left a base defended solely by these for, oh, maybe 20 minutes, and when I returned I discovered that while the Growth pod was still spawning actors on my side, it itself was no longer on my team and had moved approximately one actor's length from its original position.
To clarify, the pod was not on my team, but was also not on the enemy's team.


Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:51 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 12082
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-7-09) Jumpers,Signals,Toggle AutoSpawn
Dr. EvilIt could just be an over-load of actors.

Also, I'm working on menus for all of the features instead of memorizing which button does what.


Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:34 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 12082
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-8-09) MegaCrab and Functioning Menu
Bumpdate. Added Mega crab and a fully functional menu you can access by holding fire. Once opened, use left, right, up, and down to navigate through the five options you have. The Menu can:
-Spawn a Jumper Soldier(1)
-Spawn a Crab Soldier(2)
-Spawn a Mega Crab(3)
-Toggle auto-spawn(infinite sign)
-Cancel(X)


Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:41 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:59 am
Posts: 1726
Location: NSW, Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-8-09) MegaCrab and Functioning Menu
Most fun I've had in CC for ages.

The crabsoldiers are really well sprited and work really well. Excellent light, cheap soldier.


Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:49 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:14 am
Posts: 3966
Location: Canadida
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-8-09) MegaCrab and Functioning Menu
This is a very fun mod, especially when you pit three pods, vs three pods, and make the waypoints go to eachother.
Don't get me started on the many troops and the many dead bodies, and the large ass crossfires that resulted.


Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:54 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 4:20 am
Posts: 4771
Location: Good news everyone!
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-8-09) MegaCrab and Functioning Menu
I think the next step is to make a map where your brain is a Growth Pod and you have no funds; Where you are pitted either against a base or another Pod.
Love the updates.


Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:25 am
Profile WWW
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-8-09) MegaCrab and Functioning Menu
Then you should at least make two different pods, one for jumpers and one for crabs, because it would be more fun to pit jumpers against crabs than to put crabs against crabs i think.


Fri Oct 09, 2009 3:28 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:03 am
Posts: 159
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-8-09) MegaCrab and Functioning Menu
Are there ways of changing the sprites easily? so that you can create a new version for say the coalition, you could have one for every faction!
Some would need multiple menues, so for darkstorm say you have a menue like the original and 1 is a shinobi, 2 is a shogun and 3 goes to another menu fer specialised shoguns, and that would have 1 as coil gun, 2 as point defence and 3 as specialist with the down or auto-spawn going back, then point defence could contain a PD shogun and the coil gun version, in specialist you could get 1 electro, 2 pyro and 3 cryo.

Overall even at it's current stage it is amazing, sadly the only person who plays cortex command with me refuses to play 1v1 games, only coop skirmishes.


Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:17 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:19 pm
Posts: 2073
Reply with quote
Post Re: Growth Pod *Update(10-8-09) MegaCrab and Functioning Menu
Sweet update.
Now I can has some wildlife wars.


Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:30 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.024s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]