View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:39 am



Reply to topic  [ 326 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 22  Next
 [B33] MaximDude Corp. (10 Year Anniversary Update) 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:58 am
Posts: 2054
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
Oh, right, forgot about keyboard users.
Detect if they are a mouse user first, if so, use controller state copying to move. If not, use the seperate keys.


Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:17 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:19 pm
Posts: 2073
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
mail2345 wrote:
Oh, right, forgot about keyboard users.
Detect if they are a mouse user first, if so, use controller state copying to move. If not, use the seperate keys.


Ok...
Also I though i'd make the turret unselectable.
My plan is to set the turret to neutral team and disable it's controllers, and then once the dropship is controlled by the player set it's team to the players team and enable controls blah blah blah.


Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:20 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
But then infantry will shoot at it if you forgot to select it...


Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:34 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:19 pm
Posts: 2073
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
Lizard wrote:
But then infantry will shoot at it if you forgot to select it...


Infantry doesn't shoot neutral units... Or so I think...
I'm gonna check that.

Edit:

FFFFFFFUUUUUUUU- It does.
Well there goes my whole plan.

Any ideas how to make it unselectable while still keeping it an ACrab turret?


Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:39 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
Make it have you select the dropship every time you try to select it. Or something involving height, think it was ActorHeight or some ♥♥♥♥.


Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:48 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:19 pm
Posts: 2073
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
Lizard wrote:
Make it have you select the dropship every time you try to select it.

How?
Lizard wrote:
Or something involving height, think it was ActorHeight or some ♥♥♥♥.

It's already set to something like over9000... It doesn't do anything except moving the health/ammo HUD.


Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:54 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:09 am
Posts: 395
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
Do MovableMan:AddParticle(self.turret) instead of MovableMan:AddActor(self.turret).

Also, try storing the dropship's team in the turret's Sharpness and do "self.Team = self.Sharpness" in the turret's create function.


Sat Jan 16, 2010 11:38 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:58 am
Posts: 2054
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
I kinda like the current setup, where you can either have the AI control the gun, or yourself. Maybe consider experimenting with ensuring that the bullet won't hit the turret, and then setting which MO not to hit from the bullet.


Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:47 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:19 pm
Posts: 2073
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
Abdul Alhazred wrote:
Do MovableMan:AddParticle(self.turret) instead of MovableMan:AddActor(self.turret).

Trying to spawn an actor as a particle? Wouldn't that cause errors?
Abdul Alhazred wrote:
Also, try storing the dropship's team in the turret's Sharpness and do "self.Team = self.Sharpness" in the turret's create function.

I don't really see a reason to do this, the turret will do a quick scan on Create() to determine which team the dropship belongs to and set self to that team.


Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:55 am
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:09 am
Posts: 395
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
MaximDude wrote:
Abdul Alhazred wrote:
Do MovableMan:AddParticle(self.turret) instead of MovableMan:AddActor(self.turret).

Trying to spawn an actor as a particle? Wouldn't that cause errors?
Abdul Alhazred wrote:
Also, try storing the dropship's team in the turret's Sharpness and do "self.Team = self.Sharpness" in the turret's create function.

I don't really see a reason to do this, the turret will do a quick scan on Create() to determine which team the dropship belongs to and set self to that team.

You are right of course, my use of Sharpness is unnecessary. Adding the line "self.turret.Team = self.Team" in the gunship's create function is probably enough.

Don't forget to replace MovableMan:IsActor(self.turret) with MovableMan:ValidMO(self.turret) if you add the turret as a particle.


Sun Jan 17, 2010 11:57 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:07 pm
Posts: 34
Location: behind you
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
Maybe you should have downloads for each seperate type of download. for example, 1 download for the craft, another for the bombs, another for actors and so on. there is an abundance of weapons, so maybe a seperate download for all the types of weapon. one for sniper rifles, another for acid, another for explosive, spread, machine guns for example.

I say this because I am happy with most of the objects I already have, however I would really like the lazor doors, reinforced doors and a few other things, but the entire packadge would take too long to download for me.

Just some constructive criticism. :grin:


Sun Jan 24, 2010 1:33 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:19 pm
Posts: 2073
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
Pyrodoom wrote:
Maybe you should have downloads for each seperate type of download. for example, 1 download for the craft, another for the bombs, another for actors and so on. there is an abundance of weapons, so maybe a seperate download for all the types of weapon. one for sniper rifles, another for acid, another for explosive, spread, machine guns for example.

That's just silly.
It would just be lots of unnecessary hassle for me...

What kind of crappy connection you have if downloading 4 megabytes would 'take too long'?


Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:51 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:36 pm
Posts: 130
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
Now, I'm sure you've heard this a million times, but I'd like to make a simple suggestion.

ACTORS.

I love this mod to death. It has tons of great weapons and modules, and the gunship is a blast to use. But I just find the weapons look out of place in the hands of most actors. I like to use actors belonging to the faction that designed the weapons, but unless I want to send an attack team of miners, this mod doesn't allow that.

Make some good, unique actors, and this great mod would be damned near perfect.


Fri Feb 05, 2010 5:15 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:19 pm
Posts: 2073
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
The Egotist wrote:
ACTORS.


I currently have 1 new actor to be added in the next update.
The sniper clone that I was supposed to add in the previous update has been scrapped.

The main reason for lack of actors is that I suck at animating limbs... >________>'

Anyway, Been busy lately, so here's the not-so-big list of changes:

- Updated EMP Grenade to kill newer MDC synthetic stuff - I actually forgot to do it ever since I made it.
- Added Plasma Cutter to the pack.
- Brain Crab lua script should now work properly on Mac machines - Thanks to CaveCricket again, though I wasn't really aware of this issue.
- Replaced Plasma Ball sprite with a better looking one.
- Added animation to Tactical Nuke.
- Shortened Mobile Machinegun Turret's machinegun - By a whole 2px, holy crap.
- Added Ion Beam Rifle to the pack.

Expect update somewhere next month (Hopefully).

If anyone has any suggestions for new content/tweaks, do say.


Fri Feb 05, 2010 2:51 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:03 pm
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: MaximDude Corp. (Updated 16/01/10, new content)
I like the missle silo's as well, however there is a flaw with them.
I noticed when playing multiplayer or even single player that you can only have one silo of each type at one time that works. If you fire all missles they will not respawn all of them, but mearly one will respawn in one silo and the others will remain empty and never refill till that one is fired and even then only One other will be refilled and the rest remain empty . Even it being used in diffrent teams makes no difference it's only one at one time. Though I do like using these as a form of a interuptable economy, fire'ing them into space gives you money :grin: .


Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:16 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 326 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 22  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.065s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]