View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Oct 26, 2014 2:46 am



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 287 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 20  Next
 Online Play - Yes this is a joke 
Author Message
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 3095
Location: A little south and a lot west of Moscow
Post Online Play - Yes this is a joke
Okay, so, remember this?
Maybe it was a bit of a fib.
Image
ALL OF THIS OVER THE INTERNETS

I'll admit, I've spent a long time telling people that it's not going to happen with Lua, but Grif enlightened me after a bit of testing and apparently it actually is possible. This is seriously going to blow your mind - I really think the months of work payed off.
A video, for those still in disbelief, provided by the wonderful Dauss:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ExCLpQwH1Yc

We're finally ready, after 3 months of secret work, to release a beta. Keep in mind this is only a beta, but we're pretty proud of it nonetheless. I urge you to download it, it's really a thrill to finally connect with others on the forum.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2149322/Online% ... player.rar

To install it, extract ALL of those folders into your Cortex Command directory. They're all needed to connect to the server. Start up the game and run the campaign map - it's right in the center of the planet.

Notes:
    Currently, the only mods we have installed on the server are Crobotech and Axe Cop by request of Dauss. This means you can only use those two mods in-game, so PLEASE don't place anything else lest you crash the game for everyone.
    Every time you connect to the server, it will re-install Crobotech.rte and AxeCop.rte for you to make sure you have the right version - back these up ahead of time.
    We only have one server, so only 2 people can play the game at the same time. This probably means you'll have to wait, but just keep restarting the scene and eventually you'll get a connection.
    We couldn't fix IsScrap, sadly, so the scene has to have a static background as you can see in the video. This means it's kind of like playing in a cave, but it's not that bad.
    There is no sound. PlaySound() still doesn't work, and therefore we can't get it working until B24 or possibly later.
    Don't order too many things or cause too many objects to hit each other, or the server's lag will spike.

Enjoy!


Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:54 am
Profile WWW
A HUMAN BRAIN, SAFELY INSULATED FROM THE TERRORS OF HYPERSPACE
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 1070
Location: Somewhere beyond the endless sea of hyperspace, fighting for your right to call a planet home.
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
Oh boy oh boy it's been a long time coming, and it's been hard keeping it secret.

Enjoy people, a lot of hard work went into this.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:55 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 7:38 pm
Posts: 447
Location: The Ninth Circle
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
Holy ♥♥♥♥. This is certainly a landmark in Cortex Command history. The phrase "instaDL" comes to mind, but I'd prefer not to tarnish this moment. Of course, cursing probably did that anyway, but whatever! On to online play!


Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:58 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 2910
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
Omg, this impossible happened!

This makes the [THE WILL NEVER BE ONLINE PLAY] thread useless.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:59 am
Profile WWW
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
I am just glad that this is finally, at least somewhat, playable.

Christ, the number of bugs we worked through :(

TLB you're a champ.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:01 am
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 6889
Location: b8bbd5
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
As Dauss can corroborate, my reaction:
Hoooooleeeeeeeeeee shiiiiit.

As my friend watching along with me said,
Duhs friend wrote:
We are stepping into a new and brightly shining era.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:02 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 2910
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
Error: Image


Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:03 am
Profile WWW
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 3095
Location: A little south and a lot west of Moscow
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
Shoot, dependency issue. Uploaded a new version.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:07 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:17 am
Posts: 81
Location: New Zealand
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
:shock: I have never been happier in my entire life.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:07 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 2910
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
Hey guys, if you want to use this, either delete HAMMERMK2 or change the coordinates, HammerCanyon stacks ontop.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:10 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 7:38 pm
Posts: 447
Location: The Ninth Circle
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
This is not for Macs, is it?
Oh, and I like the connectiontools.ini.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:11 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:55 am
Posts: 1627
Location: Ohio
Post Online Play - Yes I did get it working
uh, it's april first you guys. I'm not even bothering, it's an obvious fake.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:12 am
Profile YIM WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 2910
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Post Online Play - Yes I did get it working
Miles_T3hR4t wrote:
uh, it's april first you guys. I'm not even bothering, it's an obvious fake.

If this is real, you really chose a bad date to do it.
And if it is true, this is one small step for TLB and ONE LARGE LEAP FOR CC!


Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:13 am
Profile WWW
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
Miles_T3hR4t wrote:
uh, it's april first you guys. I'm not even bothering, it's an obvious fake.


It's 10:14 PM march 31st, but, uh, did you try looking at the video? The five minute long video?


Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:14 am
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 3095
Location: A little south and a lot west of Moscow
Post Re: Online Play - Yes I did get it working
Nocifer wrote:
This is not for Macs, is it?
Oh, and I like the connectiontools.ini.

Yeah, unfortunately Macs don't support DLLs, so this mod won't work. Sorry guys, maybe we can port it if someone with Mac-equivalent knowledge helps me out.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:19 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 287 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 20  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.056s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]