View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 23, 2020 12:07 pm



Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 Hydro Plus: Water Mod 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 4:07 am
Posts: 342
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro: Water modules
So to swim, you can use any actor right? Because I can't seem to dive.

The water seems too strong for my actors to dive deeper than 1 cm.

This could be my problem but not too sure if the water is just too strong.


Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:19 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 3:10 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Århus, Denmark
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro: Water modules
it sounds like you've putted to many "water elements" in the map. I am going to fix this later, but for now remember only to place one.


Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:35 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 4:07 am
Posts: 342
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro: Water modules
Hey so I just figured out something interesting.

So the map I was using the Hydro module was The Dig in MP3 which has less gravity. So the reason why I couldn't dive was because the gravity was preventing that. Just thought that you would like to know.


Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:54 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 3:10 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Århus, Denmark
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro: Water modules
That makes sense. Will try to fix that issue. Thanks for reporting


Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:02 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:06 pm
Posts: 461
Location: STEPPING INTO THE RING
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro Plus: Water Mod
LOVE the update. I made an epic underwater cavern in Grasslands, and tried to get to its depths... it was hard with your activities dropping those bottomwalkers at me lol.

suggestion: Have treasure chests that you can dig through to get gold.
(treasurehuntmapwouldbecooltoo)


Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:35 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:19 am
Posts: 1278
Location: Places. And things.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro Plus: Water Mod
got to get rid of aal to play this, it reads there skirmish activitys. (lol im playing!! wtf aal?!?!?!)
love this. will you update your exodus campain? (with this?)


Tue Jul 27, 2010 11:39 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:07 am
Posts: 1545
Location: That small peaceful place called Hell.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro Plus: Water Mod
Im about 99.9% sure he would use this in the new Exodus... No need to update the old one.

Also you should make new effects/sprites for the pyro for when they are underwater (Which I can help with if you need).


Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:35 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm
Posts: 2932
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro Plus: Water Mod
So looks like these things need to be added to the script:
-Make sure only one water element exists (last placed will be final surface, other surfaces will be deleted)
-Make water react dynamically to different gravities to enable smooth swimming.

I might make a scuba diver with a spear gun and perhaps even a submarine that can be boarded and exited by actors if you can make the vehicle boarding code standalone from your mission.


Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:05 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 3:10 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Århus, Denmark
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro Plus: Water Mod
Update:

1. You can now place as many water elements you like. It'll just move the original and it is free.

2. It should now work with any gravity (i hope)

And yes i will use this water in exodus ep2, but only partly, because i can get a prettier sea by using backdrops as water.


Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:54 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm
Posts: 2932
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro Plus: Water Mod
I forgot to ask, what changes you made since the last version I sent you by PMs?
Before the update you just made, I mean.


EDIT:

I can think of some more improvements to do:
-Add a documentation (or atleast a copy of the post) about making mods for Hydro plus mod. With examples, this is important. If someone is going to be stuck without internet and wants to do something, but all the info is on the forums, all he can do is FFUUU and try to figure it all out himself.

-Spice up the OP with some colors and horizontal lines (==============) to make reading it more fun. Going through the wall of text can be a bit boring, but if you atleast somehow make the part about how to use the water more visible (horizontal lines on top and bottom, blue color and bold titles for important parts).


Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:26 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:06 pm
Posts: 461
Location: STEPPING INTO THE RING
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro Plus: Water Mod
great new update. I like not being able to have too many water elements (yesterday I accidently made more than 1 and I couldnt dive, lol).

can you add a more detailed explantation of how to use the plant placing element... Is there a certain amount of times you should add it, or is it just to have as many as you want?


Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:26 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 3:10 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Århus, Denmark
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro Plus: Water Mod
Quote:
can you add a more detailed explantation of how to use the plant placing element... Is there a certain amount of times you should add it, or is it just to have as many as you want?


You should just place one because else there is a chance that they grow over each other like this Image

Will add a light, normal and dense version of the plant placer if people want to make some thick underwater forests without actually doing anything.


Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:42 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:06 pm
Posts: 461
Location: STEPPING INTO THE RING
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro Plus: Water Mod
ok thanks. yea it would be cool if there were light dense and medium.
now only if this technology could be used to make a abovewater forest.....


Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:45 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 3:10 pm
Posts: 366
Location: Århus, Denmark
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro Plus: Water Mod
Maybe a bit to dense :P
Image
Looks awesome none-the-less


To darkdoom

The technology can make abovewater forests, but they can't be BG trees or non isscrap trees, and i think it'll make some pretty ugly forests, because the placement isn't that advanced.

Maybe it'll work as grass placement... would be kinda useless


Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:51 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:10 am
Posts: 562
Location: Termina
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hydro Plus: Water Mod
The bends needs to be retro fited with this! viewtopic.php?f=24&t=13996&hilit=thebends&start=0


Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:15 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.016s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]