View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:55 am



Reply to topic  [ 132 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
 Mobility V11 [Quick fix II] 
Author Message

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:44 am
Posts: 201
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V9
Mehman wrote:
Maybe some CastObstacleRays that are still written the old way, I haven't looked into it yet but I will have some free time this week. Also the soldier of my experimental weaponry pack uses a much simpler version of this to move with a bit more agility than the average clone.



OMG did you use a script to make them move like that??

can people use your walk path or whatever if they credit you????


Mon Feb 11, 2013 1:54 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:14 am
Posts: 3966
Location: Canadida
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V9
Ha ha ha ha, if only walkpaths could actually do that.

Also, don't go crazy making some demon agglomeration of several disjunct mods, it usually ends in tears, or incoherence.


Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:16 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Posts: 909
Location: France
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V9
Izak12 wrote:
Mehman wrote:
Maybe some CastObstacleRays that are still written the old way, I haven't looked into it yet but I will have some free time this week. Also the soldier of my experimental weaponry pack uses a much simpler version of this to move with a bit more agility than the average clone.



OMG did you use a script to make them move like that??

can people use your walk path or whatever if they credit you????


Yes I use a script, and yes anyone is free to use/modify it if they credit me, as for any of my scripts.

Edit: Updated for 1.0, please report any bugs you may find.


Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:14 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 12:25 am
Posts: 36
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V9 [now compatible with 1.0]
My characters are unable to run like they do in the videos, And roll, Jump and kicking works, I think. I don't know about the rest


Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:00 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:44 am
Posts: 201
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V9
Mehman wrote:
Izak12 wrote:
Mehman wrote:
Maybe some CastObstacleRays that are still written the old way, I haven't looked into it yet but I will have some free time this week. Also the soldier of my experimental weaponry pack uses a much simpler version of this to move with a bit more agility than the average clone.



OMG did you use a script to make them move like that??

can people use your walk path or whatever if they credit you????


Yes I use a script, and yes anyone is free to use/modify it if they credit me, as for any of my scripts.

Edit: Updated for 1.0, please report any bugs you may find.



Only bug is when you lose your legs and try to hit the W key (Up) a red line appears across the screen, other than that the jetpack guy doesnt run but he rolls well enough, but still moves slowly. jetpack does work without any probs though.

how can I make it so by default my troops are using your movement script? where do I add the script? I want them to all move like how you have your runner.

and which values dictate how high the jump is in the lua?


Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:23 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Posts: 909
Location: France
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V10 [Quick fix]
I forgot a ray in soldierjet.lua, which caused some errors, I just uploaded a fix for this, although for now I don't know where the red line comes from. it was the jetpack fuel indicator
So for all those who downloaded the 1.0 version, please download the new one (V11).
I also added a few comments in the create function of the lua files that should help you understand and modify the variables to your liking.

self.JumpVel is the variable which determines how high you jump.

if you think the soldier is too slow just increase self.vel and self.acc(not too much however or it may have wierd results).

To use the script on other actors add this line to their ini file:

ScriptPath = Something.rte/path to the script/Soldier.lua

SoldierJet.lua is for the jetpack version.

Edit: new quick fix: no more red line


Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:58 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:44 am
Posts: 201
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V11 [Quick fix II]
works great

Image





ALSO


I did what you said and got it to work on my custom actor


however I had to define my own airblast within my mod and I went ahead and changed these lines in the lua



if self.Vel.Y > 12.5 then
local lr = CreateMOPixel("AB2","Mobility.rte");
lr.HitsMOs = true;
lr.Mass = 25*self.Vel.Y;
lr.Pos = self.Pos+Vector(math.random(-self.alt,self.alt),math.random(self.alt,2*self.alt));
lr.Vel = Vector(2.5*self.Vel.X,2.5*self.Vel.Y);
lr:SetWhichMOToNotHit(self,-1);
MovableMan:AddMO(lr);
end
local i = 0
while i < 3 do
local lr = CreateMOPixel("AB2","Mobility.rte");
lr.HitsMOs = false;
lr.Mass = 1;
lr.Sharpness = 0.075;
lr.Pos = self.Pos+Vector(0,-25);
lr.Vel = Vector(math.random(-150,150),200)+self.Vel;
MovableMan:AddMO(lr);
i = i+1;
end
for particle in MovableMan.Particles do


AB2 just being the name of the airblast definition effect


AddEffect = MOPixel
CopyOf = Air Blast
PresetName = AB2
Color = Color
R = 255
G = 0
B = 255
Atom = Atom
Material = Material
CopyOf = Bullet Metal
TrailColor = Color
R = 255
G = 0
B = 255
TrailLength = 0

which i put in its own .ini and IncludeFile = <effectairblast>.ini before I defined the actor.ini of my custom mod. changed the names of Mobility.rte to the name of the folder I defined it in for my custom mod.

and then it finnally worked with my imperatus bot test!!

oh and i added this to the bottom like you said


ScriptPath = MyRTE.rte/NameOfTheLuaWithYourScript.lua
JumpTime = 0

and deleted the previous JumpTime


Attachments:
lol.png
lol.png [ 61.46 KiB | Viewed 5475 times ]
Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:08 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:28 pm
Posts: 61
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V11 [Quick fix II]
Noob here, how do I attach the code to other soldiers?


Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:11 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 6:11 pm
Posts: 285
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V11 [Quick fix II]
Popping in here to say I absolutely agree, any mod that even tries to make all units move better, even if it destroys base.rte, will be an instant-download for me.


Sat Mar 08, 2014 4:39 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:46 am
Posts: 88
Location: Taking a trip around Uranus
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V11 [Quick fix II]
bioemerl wrote:
Popping in here to say I absolutely agree, any mod that even tries to make all units move better, even if it destroys base.rte, will be an instant-download for me.



This is sorta necro what you did, but it's kinda a compliment, so its up to our Overlords.

(If you like mobility mods try New World Industries. Has once that's mobile as hell.)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Anyways this is a great mod. Maybe Data will/has gotten some ideas for this to add to the base. That would be amazing.
No bugs to report at this time.

Keep the good work up!


Sat Mar 08, 2014 5:31 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 12:25 am
Posts: 36
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V11 [Quick fix II]
Yeah, How do you attach it to other actors?


Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:53 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mobility V11 [Quick fix II]
Install the mobility mod, and in the main folder it has 2 scripts: Soldier.lua and SoldierJet.lua. You can do it in one of the 2 following ways:

1) Simply add ScriptPath = Mobility.rte/SoldierJet.lua (use the jet one if the actor has jetpack, else use the other one) to the code of the actor. Little example in spoiler:


Downside is that you must have the mod installed and active (with the .rte in the end of the folder).

2) Copy either file into the mod you want to have the actor with higher mobility to, and then repeat what is done in the spoiler. Change ScriptPath accordingly (i.e., ScriptPath = TheNameOfTheModWhereYouWannaUseTheScript.rte/FolderWhereTheScriptIs/Soldier.lua)

That should do it.

Mr_Rainbow wrote:
(If you like mobility mods try New World Industries. Has once that's mobile as hell.)


Interestingly, the script used for mobility on my guys in that mod were also created by Mehman. He's a damn good programmer if you ask me. Shame he doesn't log in anymore.


Sun Mar 23, 2014 4:29 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 132 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.508s | 17 Queries | GZIP : Off ]