View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:26 pm



Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
 LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 5:30 am
Posts: 851
Location: Auckland, NZ
Reply with quote
Post LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
I lent my previous monitor to my flatmates to use as a TV and one of the flatmates lent me his LG 27" Plasma as a replacement, but I'm having troubles getting the damned thing to work properly.

I plugged in HDMI first, but the resolution is horrible, its native is 1360 x 768 which is waaaaayyy too small. Anything higher and everything is even more blurry and there is a massive black border around the screen. But when I use the TV's menu the resolution looks amazing, no massive pixelation or anything, I don't see why I can't use that resolution for my PC.

RGB is no help at all, because the max resolution is locked at 1360 x 768, which is ugly as ♥♥♥♥, the whole display is shifted one centimeter to the right and the icons are HUGE. I can see individual pixels in everything from more than meter away.

I tried Googling this but either I'm the only one with this problem in the entire world, or no one else has a problem with bleeding eyes. Just looking at the screen for more than five minutes is giving me a headache.

Does anyone know how to fix this, or if it's even fixable?


Sun May 18, 2014 8:36 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:45 am
Posts: 911
Location: No Comment.
Reply with quote
Post Re: LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
I'm going to assume that this is one of those monitors you need to install drivers for to get it to work correctly.. in which case you'll be hard press to install them without another monitor to first setup everything, also LG might have forums for tech support you might want to try there.

edit

or even a tech support line?


Sun May 18, 2014 8:50 am
Profile
Loose Canon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 11:07 pm
Posts: 2991
Location: --------------->
Reply with quote
Post Re: LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
Yeah, you'd have much better luck asking LG for help. Most likely it's some obscure setting in the TV's menus or you need a driver.


Sun May 18, 2014 3:18 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 5:08 am
Posts: 430
Location: Reconstructing W.A.S Forces,
Reply with quote
Post Re: LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
go to the desktop, click mouse 2 , go to personalization. im not shure wat it is called be cause ime not on my cpu but i will cheak lader

or just click mouse 2 and click screen resolution


Sun May 18, 2014 3:42 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:19 am
Posts: 395
Reply with quote
Post Re: LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
What the ♥♥♥♥, are monitor drivers an actual thing? Because last I checked, those were your video drivers.


Sun May 18, 2014 6:19 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 am
Posts: 1195
Location: Sydney
Reply with quote
Post Re: LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
Try forcing a resolution through your GPU software?


Sun May 18, 2014 6:39 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am
Posts: 4555
Reply with quote
Post Re: LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
how the hell is 1360x768 small? what the ♥♥♥♥ do you normally have? a 4k?


Sun May 18, 2014 6:48 pm
Profile WWW
Loose Canon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 11:07 pm
Posts: 2991
Location: --------------->
Reply with quote
Post Re: LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
Homophanim wrote:
What the ♥♥♥♥, are monitor drivers an actual thing? Because last I checked, those were your video drivers.

I've seen my computer try to install them before, yeah. Or just monitor specific software.


Sun May 18, 2014 7:08 pm
Profile WWW
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:10 am
Posts: 1373
Location: Ye Olde England
Reply with quote
Post Re: LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
Homophanim wrote:
What the ♥♥♥♥, are monitor drivers an actual thing? Because last I checked, those were your video drivers.

They tend to be a thing for TVs in my experience, no idea why.


Sun May 18, 2014 7:54 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 5:30 am
Posts: 851
Location: Auckland, NZ
Reply with quote
Post Re: LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
Cheers guys, I'll try all of the above when I get home.
@Miggles, 1360 x 768 on a 27" screen looks terrible, that or there's an even worse problem and I'm not even getting that resolution. My tablet is literally less than a quarter the size of that and appears to have five times the resolution. My old monitor is a Sony Bravia 32" LCD HD TV.


Mon May 19, 2014 12:56 am
Profile
Loose Canon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 11:07 pm
Posts: 2991
Location: --------------->
Reply with quote
Post Re: LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
Having the model number of the TV would help too.


Mon May 19, 2014 5:00 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 5:30 am
Posts: 851
Location: Auckland, NZ
Reply with quote
Post Re: LG 27" Plasma Monitor Troubles
Tried LG support and browsed for LG TV drivers for the better part of two hours and nadda, I'm stuck with the problem.
Thanks for trying to help though. The model is 26LD350, and it turns out its an LCD, not a plasma.


Tue May 20, 2014 5:19 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.033s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]