View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:46 pm



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 "The application has failed to start..." 
Author Message
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 3130
Location: A little south and a lot west of Moscow
Reply with quote
Post "The application has failed to start..."
Image
Getting this?
You're missing some necessary files on your computer for running the program. Download and install them here:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en
Make sure to get both.
Thank Wizard James for finding this.


Thu Jun 18, 2009 8:58 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:58 am
Posts: 2054
Reply with quote
Post Re: "The application has failed to start..."
Why doesn't data have it included in the installer?


Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:04 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:47 am
Posts: 1182
Reply with quote
Post Re: "The application has failed to start..."
Your image is 404ing.


Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:46 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 2:30 pm
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: "The application has failed to start..."
mail2345 wrote:
Why doesn't data have it included in the installer?
Because it's not Data's job to make sure people have other software suites.

The general reasons why people need these software packages:
a) They didn't properly install Windows.
b) They didn't properly install Windows because they are using a pirated copy
c) They were removing applications they shouldn't have.

By default, this software comes as a part of XP. If you don't have it, you did something wrong.

It's not Data's responsibility to that, nor can he possibly determine every possible fault process. That is why he has the community to beta-test his product.

Knowing this, might he consider packaging the redist? Maybe, that's his call. But it certainly does not fall to the developer of third-party software to ensure that a user has their operating system configured properly.

I had this same problem trying to run several other games--specifically FO3. And I can tell you one of the reases is one of the above ideas. Ever other time I have seen this issue come up in a software support forum, it has been for those three reasons.


Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:01 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: "The application has failed to start..."
Actually, these files have to do with early service packs of Vista.

So you can blame MS for it.


Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:04 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:58 am
Posts: 2054
Reply with quote
Post Re: "The application has failed to start..."
I would check if RaggedDruid's account sill belongs to him, mods/admins. He has abruptly started spamming ZOOM.

I noticed that both files seem to be for 32 bit.
Where is the 64 bit?


Tue Jun 23, 2009 7:20 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.017s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]