View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:20 pm



Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Scene editor is being a ♥♥♥♥! 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:15 pm
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Scene editor is being a ♥♥♥♥!
Today, i finally decided to buy it. So i bought it. Hurray.



BUT - One of the main reasons i bought it was because i wanted just to screw up everything in sandbox/scene editor mode as much as possible. So i have been trying like, 20 times now, to make a huge map in scene editor, as big, wide and deep as possible, and with a huge wad of cash to burn, and so far that has been a complete failure.

No matter how many times i try, i usually end up with a map that is so short, you can spit to the left, and it returns from the right. Its too short!

No matter how many times i try, the map seems so very shallow! I can't go anywhere below what looks like 7-10 meters below any surface before i just hit black, even though the previous editor thing allows me to go very far down.

And what randomly seems to be the case when i pick a setting, it always throws me right back in the grey place, with a grid system on the backdrop.



And im damn annoyed now... What exactly am i doing wrong???


Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:01 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 3134
Location: A little south and a lot west of Moscow
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene editor is being a ♥♥♥♥!
The editor is just there for building bases and placing certain terrain bits. To make map terrains of different sizes, you'll need to manually edit some INI and terrain BMP files. Take a look in Cortex Command/Base.rte/Scenes and poke around a bit in there. :)


Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:23 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:15 pm
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene editor is being a ♥♥♥♥!
TheLastBanana wrote:
The editor is just there for building bases and placing certain terrain bits. To make map terrains of different sizes, you'll need to manually edit some INI and terrain BMP files. Take a look in Cortex Command/Base.rte/Scenes and poke around a bit in there. :)


Could you be a dear and give me an example on the most sandboxy setup you could think of?



I honestly still don't get why, when starting a scene editor, you get the initial building screen, then you have to save the scene, to make another one in order to play it?


Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:04 am
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene editor is being a ♥♥♥♥!
You need to load up a different map BMP.


Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:30 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:15 pm
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene editor is being a ♥♥♥♥!
Lizardheim wrote:
You need to load up a different map BMP.



I just can't use any of the spacey maps already in the game??


Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:36 am
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene editor is being a ♥♥♥♥!
No that's what I mean, you're currently using the dirt old test scene, you should be able to load a different terrain on launch of editor.


Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:14 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:15 pm
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene editor is being a ♥♥♥♥!
Lizardheim wrote:
No that's what I mean, you're currently using the dirt old test scene, you should be able to load a different terrain on launch of editor.


But which one of them is big??


Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:58 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:29 pm
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene editor is being a ♥♥♥♥!
Nearly all of them are a good size for building bunkers.


Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:35 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.018s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]