View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat May 27, 2017 4:46 pm



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Have Steam version, trying to get an installer for testing 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 6:44 pm
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post Have Steam version, trying to get an installer for testing
Due to being the main supplier of "lets see what games we can properly make dedicated servers out of" in my CIT shop class, I also have to provide stuff for the hour of code and all that. So, I'm planning on a class CC mod, but the school does not allow access to steam. How would I be able to nab the game's stuff in a way that I can just stick it into a zip and then put it in my Google Docs to install for modding and stress testing on 1 gig RAM servers?


Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:53 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:48 am
Posts: 612
Location: Halifax, Canada
Reply with quote
Post Re: Have Steam version, trying to get an installer for testing
licensing.datarealms.com would be the way to get it if you paid for a non-steam version too, but that may not be applicable.

Either way, you should be able to make a copy of the steam version of the game without any issues. Like the non steam version, I'm pretty sure the steam version is self contained.


Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:45 am
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7082
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Have Steam version, trying to get an installer for testing
I don't think that Cortex uses Steam DRM, so I think you can just copy the files out of the directory.


Wed Oct 29, 2014 5:21 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 6:44 pm
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post Re: Have Steam version, trying to get an installer for testing
Alright, that's neat. Seriously though, CC should be part of any stress test. SO much ram usage.


Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:01 pm
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7082
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Have Steam version, trying to get an installer for testing
Modded Minecraft servers will also really stress your RAM, maybe more than you want. I have one that consumes 5GB baseline, even before players get on.


Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:12 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.039s | 17 Queries | GZIP : Off ]