View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 12:17 pm

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
 So, hacking multiplayer in should be possible. 

Post So, hacking multiplayer in should be possible.
Before you go "OMFG IDIOT LOCK LOCK LOCK", I am a coder and have experience with C++, Lua (in a different game), various internal scripting languages, BASIC, and Java.

I first had this idea when I saw "Cortex Command chatroom" created by (Griff?). That has convinced me it is possible to hack in MP.

I say "hack" in because true multiplayer would require re-writing the source. However, hacking in multiplayer is possible with Lua (or really any decent language). It's been done in other games where "multiplayer" is impossible. All you need is one thing:

The ability to control NPC's via whatever language you are using, and an external server (to compensate for the fact that it is impossible to code in a CC server). The main issues are definitely server joining\hosting, but those could probably be solved by joining servers using IPs and hosting servers by setting a variable in the console.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, conceptual idea of how to hack in multiplayer:

1. Get an external server, this will be used for transferring data between both players.
2. Create an NPC actor in each player's game.
3. When player 1 moves in his game, move the NPC actor in player 2's game. When player 2 moves in his game, move the NPC actor in player 1 games.
4. This "moving" is handled by uploading the information to the external server, and then receiving it on the other end. It is then used to tell the NPC what he should do.

Now, this entire idea hinges on two basic premises: