View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:40 am



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Frameman:Setscreentext bad arguments? 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 10:16 am
Posts: 186
Location: Australia
Reply with quote
Post Frameman:Setscreentext bad arguments?
I'm sure I'm doing something simple and stupid here.

I needed to display a message, so I copied the line
Code:
FrameMan:SetScreenText("Your brain has been lost!", player, 0, -1, false)

and pasted it elsewhere inside a triggered event, and all I changed was the string.
Code:
FrameMan:SetScreenText("Deployer touching down!", player, 0, -1, false)

I get an error when the trigger is activated saying:

Image


Thu Oct 27, 2011 1:55 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 4521
Location: Constant motion
Reply with quote
Post Re: Frameman:Setscreentext bad arguments?
It seems to be suggesting that the string "player" is nil. what should it be equal to?


Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:24 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 10:16 am
Posts: 186
Location: Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Frameman:Setscreentext bad arguments?
Fixed now, realised I never actually set player to anything.


Fri Oct 28, 2011 3:54 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 10:16 am
Posts: 186
Location: Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Frameman:Setscreentext bad arguments?
I have another issue, and I don't think its really worth a second thread. This one I have no Idea what's wrong. The text only appears for what appears to be a single frame when it should be 5 seconds.

Code:
FrameMan:SetScreenText("Drop Cradles! Incoming!", Activity.PLAYER_1, 400, 5000, false)


Sat Oct 29, 2011 4:38 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 10:16 am
Posts: 186
Location: Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Frameman:Setscreentext bad arguments?
I'd hate to make a triple post, but its been a few months and I've finally resumed work on this and im being held back by this issue in particular. Any help? :(


Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:54 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 4521
Location: Constant motion
Reply with quote
Post Re: Frameman:Setscreentext bad arguments?
Try using a timer instead.


Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:48 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 10:16 am
Posts: 186
Location: Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Frameman:Setscreentext bad arguments?
Things like this will soon become obvious to me. It works now, all I had to do was Self:ResetMessageTimer().


Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:29 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.329s | 17 Queries | GZIP : Off ]