View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Jul 21, 2019 3:37 am



Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Incapped L4D characters 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 345
Reply with quote
Post Incapped L4D characters
I need help with this... Basically i want to take the incapped part of the zombies 09' and put it into louis,francis,zoey and bill... so i can start on my l4d beta again...Please help if you know how...


Attachments:
File comment: Heres the zombies and all that from zombies 09'...
Zombies.rte.rar [4.32 KiB]
Downloaded 115 times
File comment: Its the l4d mod i need to have the actors be able to be incapped...no it doesnt have the infected files in it...srry
L4D.rte.rar [8.44 MiB]
Downloaded 120 times
Fri Apr 02, 2010 7:30 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:04 am
Posts: 1559
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
I'm going to take a blind stab at this and say you should PM Geti, the author of said Zombies '09 before making a public thread about it.


Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:15 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 345
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
Ive already tried...and he said he wont help...so i ask others to help...


Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:36 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am
Posts: 4074
Location: That quaint little British colony down south
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
Essentially the only people likely to be able to help you are incredibly unlikely to want to help you.


Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:45 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:26 am
Posts: 1633
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
This is easy. Just copy over the lua script for the incap, and add the script path for your actors, I think. I've never used lua, so this is just a guess, but it should work.


Fri Apr 02, 2010 7:05 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 4886
Location: some compy
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
He did ask me. The reason I didnt was because it requires moving a MOSP into the effects.ini and recomiling all the .rtes he's split it into. Once you attach the script you'll have to make a few edits to how it places the "INCAPACITATED" logo, and make sure you've got the sprite in the right place. I don't have the time at the moment, so I suggested he make a topic here. I'm sure someone will be able to do it, I suppose it's a matter of motivation though.


Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:31 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 345
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
Ok...well im going to start out fresh and make newbie mods... Soo that way i can get a feeling of coding and all the stuff like lua.


newbie mods=mods that probably suck.


Sat Apr 03, 2010 8:04 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:18 pm
Posts: 618
Location: Ancient Hispania
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
pandastar994 wrote:
newbie mods=mods that probably suck.

Don't worry, everybody here sucked sometime ago, important fact its you make it for yourself,
not like lafe, who released an insane amount of crappy-mods, he polished himself,
but he has worst reputation than hitler...


Sat Apr 03, 2010 9:30 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 345
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
Well if you dont mind can you help me with this gun im making to get a feel for the coding...its really just the index...it says error at chechen assault rifle.rte/gun.ini or something like that...


Attachments:
Chechen assault rifle.rte.rar [335.81 KiB]
Downloaded 101 times
Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:39 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 4886
Location: some compy
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
If it's erroring at that line it means there's something wrong with it. if it's just the index, then it's likely that the other file doesnt exist.


Sat Apr 03, 2010 10:50 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:02 pm
Posts: 905
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
You haven't designated a module name.
Add this line below DataModule; [tab]ModuleName = whatever

Edit:
You also have a spelling error on assault rifle. It refers to an .rte that doesn't exist.

Edit2:
I don't have GunTemplate.rte, so I can't test any further than that, but try to avoid referencing anything other than Base.rte, or Vanilla .rtes at least.
If possible, include everything in your mod.

Edit3:
Lies, you don't need a module name. Items will just appear under an empty header.


Last edited by Petethegoat on Sun Apr 04, 2010 12:49 am, edited 2 times in total.



Sat Apr 03, 2010 10:54 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:36 pm
Posts: 345
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
Please ignore the rifle because we fixed it its in minor mods now.SOOOO HAPPPYYY!!!! I made a mod!!!


Sat Apr 03, 2010 10:58 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:02 pm
Posts: 905
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
The minor mod dump version still has the two issues I mentioned above.

Are you sure you uploaded the right version?


Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:01 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm
Posts: 1916
Location: Flint Hills
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
pandastar994 wrote:
my l4d beta

I just want to clarify... Are you implying, or perhaps even explicitly claiming, that the L4D mod you posted was yours?


Wed Apr 07, 2010 5:33 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:04 am
Posts: 1559
Reply with quote
Post Re: Incapped L4D characters
Azukki wrote:
pandastar994 wrote:
my l4d beta

I just want to clarify... Are you implying, or perhaps even explicitly claiming, that the L4D mod you posted was yours?


Or that he even got permission to use/modify said files?


Wed Apr 07, 2010 5:40 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.028s | 18 Queries | GZIP : Off ]