View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:20 am

Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
 Rocks Appearing in the area colored as sky 

Post Rocks Appearing in the area colored as sky
Ok i finaly got my first Scene almost ready to go, but what do ya know i have a problems like always

There are rocks in an area that is sky, i know its gonna be somthing like "you cant make caves like that" or somthing but w/e here we go

I know its somthing simple and i know yes im a noob, ive been playing Cortex for well ever but just havnt really tried to mod untill now

Thanks for any help i get

Last edited by Sashacryotank on Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:14 am

Post Re: Rocks Appearing in the Are colored as sky
Hiya,

Normally gold and rocks get spawned below the soil at a set depth.
You can change many values to overcome the problem you're having, but to make your life easier I'd just give the soil a non-soil colour where you don't want gold to spawn.
If you want to get details, try the guides, which should be in the scene making section. :)

Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:35 am

Post Re: Rocks Appearing in the area colored as sky
That doesn't seem very helpful, you are only saying what he could do without telling him how to do it.

Does your map have it's own gold and boulder terraindebris?

If it does then you must find the part where it says "maxdepth" and change the value so it's smaller and doesn't show in the air. But this then gives you the problem of having lots of rock and gold close to the surface. You may like this but if you don't; open up the .bmp for your map, and put pixel sized dots of the material soil throughout your map (but not any in the overhang in your screenshot), this should spread out your gold and rocks again. Be sure not to put the dots to low down on the map so the gold is hard to get too but don't put so few that it barely makes a differance.