View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:41 pm



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Requesting Help ~ Creating New Terrain 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 6:48 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Requesting Help ~ Creating New Terrain
I've tried fiddling with the frustrating .ini files to no avail and even after reading all the guides I could find (and attempting to deconstruct the .ini files of other modders) I can't seem to get my new terrain into the game. Below is a copy of the .ini file, I'd really appreciate it if someone could help figure out where I'm going wrong at getting the map into the game.

Code:
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// Horizontal Land

AddScene = Scene
   PresetName = Horiz Land2
   LocationOnPlanet = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = 0
   // Gravity acceleration, m/s^2
   GlobalAcceleration = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = 19.82

   // Terrain SceneLayer
   Terrain = SLTerrain
      PresetName = Horiz Land Terrain
      BitmapFile = ContentFile
         Path = NewScenes.rte/HorizLand2.bmp
      WrapX = 1
      WrapY = 0
      ScrollRatio = Vector
         X = 1.0
         Y = -1.0
      BackgroundTexture = ContentFile
         Path = Base.rte/Scenes/Textures/DirtDark.bmp
         
      /////////////////////////////////////////
      // Material frostings
      
      AddTerrainFrosting = TerrainFrosting
         TargetMaterial = Material
            CopyOf = Topsoil
         FrostingMaterial = Material
            CopyOf = Grass
         MinThickness = 5
         MaxThickness = 7
         InAirOnly = 1

      /////////////////////////////////////////
      // Terrain Debris which is scattered
      
      AddTerrainDebris = TerrainDebris
         CopyOf = Gold

      AddTerrainDebris = TerrainDebris
         CopyOf = Plants

      AddTerrainDebris = TerrainDebris
         CopyOf = Boulders

      /////////////////////////////////////////
      // List of TerrainObjects to apply
/*
      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = Vertical Wall
         Position = Vector
            X = 1872
            Y = 512

      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = Hangar A
         Position = Vector
            X = 1896
            Y = 560

      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = L-Junction B
         Position = Vector
            X = 1800
            Y = 608

      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = Vertical Wall
         Position = Vector
            X = 1800
            Y = 704

      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = Vertical Wall
         Position = Vector
            X = 1776
            Y = 776

      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = Vertical Wall
         Position = Vector
            X = 1752
            Y = 848

      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = Vertical Wall
         Position = Vector
            X = 2088
            Y = 512

      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = Stairs B
         Position = Vector
            X = 2088
            Y = 608

      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = L-Junction D
         Position = Vector
            X = 2184
            Y = 656

      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = T-Junction C
         Position = Vector
            X = 2184
            Y = 752

      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = Doors A
         Position = Vector
            X = 2088
            Y = 752

      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = End B
         Position = Vector
            X = 1992
            Y = 752

*/      
   // Background scene layer definitions
   AddBackgroundLayer = SceneLayer
      CopyOf = Near Layer
   AddBackgroundLayer = SceneLayer
      CopyOf = Clouds Layer
   AddBackgroundLayer = SceneLayer
      CopyOf = Sky Layer


Added [code] tags.

- Electro


Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:04 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:53 pm
Posts: 589
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Reply with quote
Post Re: Requesting Help ~ Creating New Terrain
Just FYI, the 'Code' button is there for a reason; it preserves all tabs and spaces. Use it or upload the .ini. Also, what specific error message are you given? If you have but one tab or space out of place, CC won't recognize that line of code, so you might be able to help yourself by re-tabbing the lines. :)


Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:15 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 6:48 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Requesting Help ~ Creating New Terrain
uberhen wrote:
Just FYI, the 'Code' button is there for a reason; it preserves all tabs and spaces. Use it or upload the .ini. Also, what specific error message are you given? If you have but one tab or space out of place, CC won't recognize that line of code, so you might be able to help yourself by re-tabbing the lines. :)


There's no error, it just won't show up in-game.


Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:46 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:11 pm
Posts: 1496
Reply with quote
Post Re: Requesting Help ~ Creating New Terrain
At the end of the folder name for your map, did you type ".rte" or
include an Index.ini inside of that folder that references to your map.ini?

If that doesn't work, upload the map folder, and I'll take a look at it since
it could be a problem with the Indentation and DRL doesn't preserve the tabbing.

May awesome days be yours.


Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:11 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.075s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]