View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Mar 30, 2024 8:49 am



Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
 Floating Gold Problem? 
Author Message
DRLGrump
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 2037
Location: Jerking off in a corner over by the OT sub-forum
Reply with quote
Post Floating Gold Problem?
I'm trying to make a scene that has a cave, but when I make it, it has floating gold in the cave. Can anyone help?


Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:42 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 4:20 am
Posts: 4772
Location: Good news everyone!
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
I think you're supposed to use that darker purple color.


Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:54 pm
Profile WWW
DRLGrump
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 2037
Location: Jerking off in a corner over by the OT sub-forum
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
CrazyMLC wrote:
I think you're supposed to use that darker purple color.

Did that, and I got this, nice cave background, but still floating gold and boulders...
Attachment:
File comment: Porque?
ScreenDump003.bmp
ScreenDump003.bmp [ 900.05 KiB | Viewed 6993 times ]


Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:47 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 3138
Location: A little south and a lot west of Moscow
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
That happens. It's being worked on, and one day it won't be a problem. In the meantime, just make a bunker module in with no foreground or background, shape the MAT file to that cave's shape, color it that same purple, and then place it where you want the cave.


Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:12 am
Profile WWW
DRLGrump
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 2037
Location: Jerking off in a corner over by the OT sub-forum
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
I'm getting an error on line 83. I'm a moron with code, so please forgive me here. Can someone tell me what I did wrong? I'm just trying to get it so it makes the cave empty.
Code:
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// Uprising

AddScene = Scene
   PresetName = Uprising
   LocationOnPlanet = Vector
      X = 110
      Y = -64
   // Gravity acceleration, m/s^2
   GlobalAcceleration = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = 19.82

   // Terrain SceneLayer
   Terrain = SLTerrain
      PresetName = Uprising Terrain
      BitmapFile = ContentFile
         Path = Uprising.rte/Scene/Uprising.bmp
      WrapX = 0
      WrapY = 0
      ScrollRatio = Vector
         X = 1.0
         Y = -1.0
      BackgroundTexture = ContentFile
         Path = Base.rte/Scenes/Textures/DirtDark.bmp
         
      /////////////////////////////////////////
      // Material frostings
      
      AddTerrainFrosting = TerrainFrosting
         TargetMaterial = Material
            CopyOf = Topsoil
         FrostingMaterial = Material
            CopyOf = Grass
         MinThickness = 5
         MaxThickness = 10
         InAirOnly = 1

      /////////////////////////////////////////
      // Terrain Debris which is scattered

      AddTerrainDebris = TerrainDebris
         PresetName = Gold Dense Deep
         DebrisFile = ContentFile
            // When loading, 000-001-002 etc is added automatically before .bmp
            Path = Base.rte/Scenes/Objects/Gold/Gold.bmp
         DebrisPieceCount = 26
         DebrisMaterial = Material
            CopyOf = Gold
         TargetMaterial = Material
            CopyOf = Earth
         OnlyOnSurface = 0
         MinDepth = 12
         MaxDepth = 3000
         DensityPerMeter = 22

      AddTerrainDebris = TerrainDebris
         PresetName = Boulders
         DebrisFile = ContentFile
            // When loading, 000-001-002 etc is added automatically before .bmp
            Path = Base.rte/Scenes/Objects/Boulders/Boulder.bmp
         DebrisPieceCount = 103
         DebrisMaterial = Material
            CopyOf = Stone
         TargetMaterial = Material
            CopyOf = Earth
         OnlyOnSurface = 0
         MinDepth = 1
         MaxDepth = 2000
         DensityPerMeter = 2

   // Background scene layer definitions
   AddBackgroundLayer = SceneLayer
      CopyOf = Near Layer
   AddBackgroundLayer = SceneLayer
      CopyOf = Clouds Layer
   AddBackgroundLayer = SceneLayer
      CopyOf = Sky Layer
      
      ////////////////////////////////////////////////
      //Begin list of TerrainObjects
      
      AddTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         InstanceName = Cave
         MaterialFile = ContentFile
         Path = Uprising.rte/Scene/Objects/CaveMat.bmp
         
      /////////////////////////////////////////
      // List of TerrainObjects to apply
   
      PlaceTerrainObject = TerrainObject
         CopyOf = Cave
         Location = Vector
         X = 2392
         Y = 745


Sat Oct 24, 2009 1:29 am
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
You need to have all three image layers defined, not just the material sadly. Make blank images that are the same size as the materials image, but filled with the 255,0,255. Also, make sure you tab to the correct level. Check the bunkermodule definitions in Base.rte for how to do so.


Sat Oct 24, 2009 1:56 am
Profile
DRLGrump
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 2037
Location: Jerking off in a corner over by the OT sub-forum
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
Duh102 wrote:
You need to have all three image layers defined, not just the material sadly. Make blank images that are the same size as the materials image, but filled with the 255,0,255. Also, make sure you tab to the correct level. Check the bunkermodule definitions in Base.rte for how to do so.

I did that, and I redid the code to match the bunker modules. And I get a fancy error now, with nothing to tell me what line is ♥♥♥♥ up.
Attachment:
File comment: The problem
Error.JPG
Error.JPG [ 24.13 KiB | Viewed 6968 times ]

Code:
////////////////////////////////////////////////
//Begin list of TerrainObjects
      
AddTerrainObject = TerrainObject
   PresetName = Cave
   FGColorFile = ContentFile
      Path = Uprising.rte/Scene/Objects/CaveFG.bmp
   MaterialFile = ContentFile
      Path = Uprising.rte/Scene/Objects/CaveMat.bmp
   BGColorFile = ContentFile
      Path = Uprising.rte/Scene/Objects/CaveBG.bmp


Sat Oct 24, 2009 4:33 am
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
Perhaps it would be better if you instead defined the BunkerModule in another .ini and simply referenced it.
Attachment:
CaveCutout.ini [282 Bytes]
Downloaded 279 times

Just a bit of copy paste. Then use
Code:
   PlaceSceneObject = TerrainObject
      CopyOf = Base.rte/Vertical Wall
      Position = Vector
         X = 624
         Y = 324

To place it where you want. You'll have to figure out the offsets. I believe BunkerModules start their offsets from the top right corner, and I know scenes go from the top right corner.


Sat Oct 24, 2009 4:40 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 81
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
Might be a problem with the format of the images. Is it 256 and not 24-bit?


Sat Oct 24, 2009 4:43 am
Profile
DRLGrump
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 2037
Location: Jerking off in a corner over by the OT sub-forum
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
Here are the mat and FG, BG files. (FG and BG are the same). And would I just put this in the code then?
Code:
 /////////////////////////////////////////
// List of TerrainObjects to apply
   
PlaceSceneObject = TerrainObject
   CopyOf = Uprising.rte/Cave
   Position = Vector
      X = 624
      Y = 324


EDIT: Still gives me the fancy message...


Attachments:
CaveMat.bmp
CaveMat.bmp [ 5.66 KiB | Viewed 6961 times ]
CaveFG.bmp
CaveFG.bmp [ 3.98 KiB | Viewed 6961 times ]
Sat Oct 24, 2009 4:47 am
Profile
DRLGrump
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 2037
Location: Jerking off in a corner over by the OT sub-forum
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
Actually, here's the entire package. Someone figure out what's wrong please...


Attachments:
Uprising.rar [12.4 KiB]
Downloaded 294 times
Sat Oct 24, 2009 4:46 pm
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
Your images were out of palette. Taking a further look at it, but so far that's the only thing that's wrong.

EDIT: Most of the scenes definition was out of tab line, as well as the IncludeFiles. Those tabs will kill you if you don't keep careful track of their plans...
While I was there I also fixed the placement of the cave.
Attachment:
Uprising.rte.rar [18.06 KiB]
Downloaded 292 times


Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:28 pm
Profile
DRLGrump
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 2037
Location: Jerking off in a corner over by the OT sub-forum
Reply with quote
Post Re: Floating Gold Problem?
Duh102 wrote:
Your images were out of palette. Taking a further look at it, but so far that's the only thing that's wrong.

EDIT: Most of the scenes definition was out of tab line, as well as the IncludeFiles. Those tabs will kill you if you don't keep careful track of their plans...
While I was there I also fixed the placement of the cave.
Attachment:
Uprising.rte.rar

Thanks a whole bunch man.


Sun Oct 25, 2009 12:41 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.102s | 19 Queries | GZIP : Off ]