View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:21 pm



Reply to topic  [ 513 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 35  Next
 [Abandoned] Unmapped Lands 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:23 pm
Posts: 914
Location: Blighty
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
FFUUU-
I went in on my own with a soldier, and now i need my brain.
Image
After playing the other missions, i assumed the enemy would bring in re enforcements.
So i literally entombed my brainbot for protection.

damn.


Tue May 18, 2010 4:39 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:07 am
Posts: 1545
Location: That small peaceful place called Hell.
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
matty406 wrote:
FFUUU-
I went in on my own with a soldier, and now i need my brain.
Image
After playing the other missions, i assumed the enemy would bring in re enforcements.
So i literally entombed my brainbot for protection.

damn.


Image

DAMN that Crust is hard..


Tue May 18, 2010 10:25 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 10:44 pm
Posts: 64
Location: Oregon USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
If we got the whole Community together to help, this could be an amazing and different Campaign experience. Maybe we can change the theme too a sequel Campaign after we play Data's official one!


Wed May 19, 2010 1:47 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:02 pm
Posts: 905
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
Quote:
One or more of my mods are not loading, even though they are in my CC folder!

1. Create a new folder (Mod1.rte),
2. Go in the folder for the mod that is missing,
3. Copy all of the contents from the old folder to the new one (Mod1.rte)
4. Delete the old folder and all of its contents.
5. Rename the new folder (Mod1.rte) to the old desired name.


Wed May 19, 2010 5:00 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 3:04 am
Posts: 52
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
I really like the mod and want to see it become something great. Because of this I have some suggestions:

Sometimes I will attack a region (and win), but then when I defend it the map is completely different. I think the base being defended needs to be the same both times.

Attack 3 has some issues...No matter my race it seems to spawn me as a clone brain and whether I win or lose, it will restart the mission ETERNALLY after a brief moment back on the world map.

I would like to see some documentation for how I can get another faction into the game...possibly a "custom" selection where it then asks you to pick from a list?

The code-download mission didn't trigger a win (or next phase or whatever) when I got my man to the terminal, I then brought my brain unit and still nothing...need more robust triggers.

It seems that when defending, the computer has unlimited funds for reinforcements. Maybe instead of this, we can simply increase their aim-distance to 500 so they can actually be effective, then their reinforcements can start costing them money.

There should be a way to implement the number of mines into the actual gameplay, perhaps as a second mission option when attacking a territory
For example: "Attack" could lead to "Attack base" or "Attack mines". A successful mine-raid could be a great way to damage the enemy's income and at the same time steal a lot of money.

That's all for now. great work so far!


Mon May 24, 2010 9:47 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 5:09 pm
Posts: 70
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
Part of me is starting to think Data should just release the source code to owners of the game,
with the pure awesome sauce that saturates this forum we would have a completed game by now.


Mon May 24, 2010 11:17 pm
Profile YIM
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
But then people could just release the source code to everyone and it will be all over the place.


Tue May 25, 2010 10:49 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 4886
Location: some compy
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
That and data wants to make money, not go the FOSS (read: penniless) route.


Tue May 25, 2010 11:04 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:28 am
Posts: 37
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
whoa how long did it take you to highlight the land areas? look realy cool tho and that was retorical.


Tue May 25, 2010 8:03 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:34 pm
Posts: 965
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
Apollon wrote:
I would like to see some documentation for how I can get another faction into the game...possibly a "custom" selection where it then asks you to pick from a list?


You should play with .\Libraries\CF_MissionLibrary.lua file and replace faction attributes there. It mostly derived from code in Tartarus.


Tue May 25, 2010 8:30 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 7:46 pm
Posts: 27
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
Awesome mod! But Is it possible to play it in two players mode? If yes, how can i do this?


Thu May 27, 2010 1:48 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 3:04 am
Posts: 52
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
Ok. the Missionlibrary file was pretty helpful, but it didn't really let me accomplish what I wanted. I want to add a whole nother faction to the game.
I've spent a decent amount of time now, and have modded probably half the files in this mod's folder in order to do this. I chose an oldie (but a goodie) faction. It's bearforce.
So far I've made:
-new (teal) outline for all the territories and succesfully implemented it for new faction
-all the actors for it, (except the overpowered mechs) had to use the ronin brain cuz i couldn't get the BF Officer to work
-successfully modded the menus so that saving and loading will work with the new faction
-also modded the faction-choose menu to show new faction (still needs artwork and tweaking)
-made icons for use on the map
- allocated two of the map areas to the new faction (still two open ones left for the future!)
-yada yada yada

Basically everything works now, but the last thing i need to do is finish altering the strategy.lua to allow for the third CPU player. I tried for a long time but I actually seem to have made things worse (only CPU 1 does anything now) so I could really use some help with this part.

I'm ALMOST there! Once I get this done (faster with help) I can release my files and everyone can have up to 4 factions in the game playing at once! with one of those being custom!

Anyways that's it. I'll keep chugging on my own for now, ttyl.


Thu May 27, 2010 3:26 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:34 pm
Posts: 965
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
Damn, Bears are my favorites :)

You can PM me your code, and I'll take a look at it. But I'll go on vacation till July 8th and my wife will kill me if I'll run CC there :) I guess that strategy code (it's ugly as hell, I know :) ) will need a lot of patchwork to add another CPU player. Maybe I'll even think about the second player, but it will complicate things a lot.

Oh, and this thing is not really dead, so any help will be appreciated.

UPD:

So again here's what we need so far:
- 6 more attack missions (fresh scenes for them, not so complicated ideas, thorough mission testing with error reporting)
- 3 "last stand" missions (guess that I'll have to do these myself, but any ideas are of great value, they have to be special, brutal and damn hard)
- main menu activity (we'll thin about it once we're ready with the other stuff)
- 3 additional defense missions would be great (same as attack missions - scenes, testing etc)
- faction turrets (I thought about special turrets for any faction. Dummy - rapid "blaster" turret, Coalition - mortar or rocket turret, Ronin - long-range heavy sniper. And any of these for custom factions)
- destructible machinery for missions (that's optional but should be very nice)
- lots of betatesting and bugreporting

I can start a new Google Wave (and we don't need any invites now) thread for further cooperation and fresh playable builds delivery.


Thu May 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:42 am
Posts: 321
Location: On an iceberg typing away...
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
Sorry if someone has said this but if you defend with only your brain after you beat the mission you have a high chance of having the game say you have not enough money for a new commander and making so that you cannot select any of your land to defend or attack.


Fri May 28, 2010 12:07 am
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:34 pm
Posts: 965
Reply with quote
Post Re: [WIP] Metagame: Unmapped Lands (pre-alpha, sorry)
hax wrote:
Sorry if someone has said this but if you defend with only your brain after you beat the mission you have a high chance of having the game say you have not enough money for a new commander and making so that you cannot select any of your land to defend or attack.


That should happen only if you lose your brain during battle and don't have enough gold to hire another one. Anything else is probably one of those nasty bugs living in this infested mod :)


Fri May 28, 2010 8:01 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 513 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 35  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.022s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]